So You Think You Can Run

In January of this year I started running. Regularly. And I haven’t stopped. Which, to be quite honest, I never thought in a million years I’d ever be doing. I was never athletic and have always hated running. I’d give it a try a few times and it would hurt so I would tell myself that I didn’t have to be a runner. I could go to spin class or step class to get my cardio.

I can not tell you exactly why (actually I can give you a few reasons, that’s a whole other post), but my approach to running this time was completely different. I researched different 5K plans and found one I wanted to follow. I went to the local running store and got fitted for shoes (Brooks Adrenaline GTS). I put my plan on paper and taped it to my bathroom mirror and crossed off every day as I completed the workout. I signed up for a 5K the first week of May in my hometown of Frederick, MD. Having this race to run gave me a reason to keep at it. I also publicly declared on Facebook that I was going to become a runner this year. This added another level of accountability (I couldn’t just quit – I had people to answer to now).

The first month went really great. So great, in fact, that I signed up for a 10K that was at the end of May. By the end of March, I was able to run for 30 minutes on the treadmill with no breaks. Seriously?!

Then I took the show on the road, literally, and that’s where things got tough. I actually ran a little faster outside, but the hills – OMG the hills! So I take walk breaks. Even though I’m on the slow side, I’ve seen improvement and it feels awesome.

So since January, I’ve run four 5Ks and one 10K. In a little less than two weeks I start training for my first half marathon. I can’t believe I’m here…and that I’m really doing this.

So that’s my super-condensed “how I got started” story.

How did you get started? Any words of advice as I embark on my first half marathon?

14 Comments

  1. High praise from #mamaSalt 🙂 Loved reading your intro story … I started way back when (25 years ago) for weight loss, and then again two years ago when my thyroid died and the weight piled back on. This time I am much more serious about the running itself than just weight loss – doing races is a load of fun, and has energized everything about my running.

    And welcome to the run-blog world – loads of great folks around!

    • Love #mamaSalt! She’s one of my BRFs!

      I’ve gotten so much inspiration from the run-blog world, so I figured it was time to give back. There were so many blogs I read through when I was getting started to get gear reviews, newbie info, etc. Besides just being awesome, running has introduced me to such an welcoming community of awesome people.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Can not WAIT to read about your journey! Welcome to Blog-ville! You have a fierce, fantastic mentor in Salt! Love that strong Lady. I will never forget my first half-marathon! Gah! The nerves! I decided to run it simply to see if I could. I had been slowly increasing my mileage and thought: I wonder if I can? And I doubted myself THE ENTIRE WAY until I crossed the finish line. I ran with zero expectations. My only goal to finish. With dignity. It was after that I was hooked. Running became everything to me. It taught me much about myself, who I am and who I want to be. 🙂 There is a great lil’ community up in here! I am glad you are a part of it!

  3. Hi, I came over from Salt’s blog 🙂 It sounds like we may be similar places in our running journey. I started running last Fall but only “seriously” in January. I’ve done several 5ks and just did my first 10k in June. I’m training for my first half marathon which will be Richmond in November. I look forward to following along on your journey!

  4. That is so awesome!! Running is such a confidence booster- I’ve found running more than I thought I could gave me the nudge to go after other things in life I wanted to try, too. Sounds like you have a really solid start to train for a half. I’d say to remember the 10% rule (not increasing weekly mileage by more than 10% at a time) and take any little ache or pain seriously by backing off a few days, rather than running through it into a full blown injury. Both are mistakes I made starting out!

Leave a Reply

