Unexpected Surprise and Goals for the Remainder of 2014

dr. Oz

I’ve been annoyed lately because my work pants have been so baggy and a smaller size of pants that I had bought a few months ago were still too tight (too tight to be decent anyway).  This morning, on a whim, I tried on the smaller pants and they fit!  I haven’t lost much weight in the past few months – just a couple of pounds, so this was super exciting.

Now back to our regularly scheduled blog post.

So when 2014 started, I had no specific goals other than lose some weight and start running.  Here we are halfway through the year and I’ve done both.  I’ve lost 25ish pounds and have become a runner.  So what now?  As 2014 rides off into the sunset, I thought I’d lay out a few more goals to give me a bit more direction for the rest of the year.

  • Finish the Baltimore Half Marathon.  No time goals here, just a finish.  (check back after October 18th for the exciting conclusion)
  • I’d like to drop another 20 lbs – that will put me in my healthy weight range.  At this point though, my weight loss has slowed significantly – I guess my body has gotten used to the running and I’m eating differently to fuel my running.  So I’ll be happy to be down another 10 by December 31st.  I won’t be a slave to the scale though – if I could drop another pants size, I’ll take that in lieu of 10 pounds.  If I don’t lose anything and I’m still in the same pants – I’ll take that too.  I’ll have run a half marathon – I’ll be riding that high for a while.
  • Shave a minute or two off my 5K time.  I’m not sure how aggressive that is or not.  I’m assuming that by running more, adding in speed work while training, and dropping a few pounds I’ll definitely get a little faster.
  • Work in more cross training.  I’ve mentioned before that this training schedule has eliminated my ability to attend my favorite spin class and Body Pump class – so now I’ve got to find other alternatives.  There is a Yoga for Athletes offered at the gym on Wednesday mornings – I’m going to give that a go next week.

So I think that’s a pretty good list for the rest of the year.

2014

What are your goals for the rest of the year?  How much time did you shave off your 5K time after doing your first half?  If you could go back in time, what goals would you have set for yourself your first year of running?  

5 Comments

  1. Awesome goals and HOORAY FOR NEW PANTS! That’s so exciting! Honestly I have no idea how much I weigh. I just go by my pants. Scales drive me insane.

    Which gym do you go to again? Please please blog about your yoga experience!

    If I could go back in time, I would definitely SLOW DOWN. Going out too fast all the time resulted in a lot of problems for me.

    • I can’t wait until I feel done with the scale. I can tell myself “oh yeah, as soon as you hit your goal weight” but who knows. I don’t live and die by it and the number doesn’t ruin my day, but I’ve gained and lost the same weight for so long that I don’t remember what it’s like to not weigh myself regularly.

      I go to Brick Bodies – and naturally I have a work related conflict next Wednesday. then vacation, and won’t be able to make it to the Yoga for Athletes until August! But I”ll definitely review.

      Sometimes I wonder if I’m going faster than I should – but I feel like I can’t possibly go any slower. 🙂

  2. Great goals! Its always good to adjust them as needed. I am still chasing my 3:50 marathon goal which I set in January (didn’t hit it for my spring marathon, but I have another chance this fall!) I actually didn’t start racing 5ks until I had done a few halfs. But for me 5ks are the easiest to make progress with, since I can do them often and just add a little speedwork into my training.

  3. I think you will most definitely shave some time off your 5k after half training. Last year I ran a marathon in the fall and managed to improve my 5k time (same race one year apart) by about 4 minutes. I did no speed training at all in that time, it was just from running longer.

Leave a Reply

