Happy Friday & Weekly Workout Round Up

Happy

HAPPY FRIDAY!  I don’t know about you, but it’s been a long week for me.  Work has been insane, lots of projects all due at the same time all while trying to get regular tasks done.  So glad that the weekend is upon us!

So this was my first week on my Half Training Plan. And I did okay. I already recapped my long run from Saturday so I’ll start with Monday.

Monday – I had an easy three miles on the schedule – done. I have perfected my neighborhood loop and know exactly which side streets to go down or add to make a loop that ends right at my front door. My legs were still a little sore from Saturday’s hills, but I was on home turf. No biggie.

Tuesday – Our group was supposed to get together to do our two mile time trial. Due to the thunderstorm warnings in the area it was canceled. However, there were no clouds in or thunder in sight around my neighborhood. So I ran a hot and muggy two miles. I thought I was doing really well – I feel it was one of my better runs on the 2 mile loop. I guess the humidity slowed me down, because at the end, my time & pace wasn’t any better than any other day.

Wednesday – Rest or Cross Train – I took a brisk walk around my block and then did some strength training. I worked on my knee & hip exercises, abs, arms, & shoulders.

Thursday – I was supposed to do a tempo run. I had to be at work at 6AM for an event so I couldn’t do it in the morning (unless I had gotten up at 3AM). As the day wore on, I was planning to leave work early and do the run around my neighborhood before I had to pick up my daughter from school. The weather was great; it was warm out, but not humid at all. As I pulled into my parking lot, a wave of exhaustion came over me and I decided to defer it to Friday morning.

Friday (today) – As I was waking up, I talked myself out of doing the tempo run. Today is supposed to be a rest day. Tomorrow is my long run. I am also doing the Electric Run tomorrow night. Plus, on Sunday, I’m taking my daughter to an amusement park. No resting Sunday. I started to beat myself up a little for not doing it the day before, but I was tired. It just didn’t work out this week. I have 13 more weeks to get my tempo runs in. However, I did get up and do my strength training routine outlined above.

I’m going to have schedule conflicts and days where I just can’t get my run in as scheduled. I need to give myself a break and if a run doesn’t work out, it’s not going to kill me. With tomorrow’s long run and the Electric Run – this will be the most miles I’ve ever run in one week. That’s pretty awesome!

Something awesome happened yesterday. On Monday I had ordered the ProCompression Calf Sleeve Grab Bag.  It was a super sweet deal.  Well they arrived yesterday. That was quite a surprise! Anyway, since it was a grab bag, I had no choice in what was coming. My first choice was either pink or the neon green with hot pink trim. I got such a good deal that I really didn’t care, but was really hoping for pink. And this is what I got:

Compression Socks

I got both a pink pair AND  the neon green with pink!!!  I was so excited when I opened the bag!!!  The black pair with red and blue polka dots are cute too.  Now while I did get pink – they have the Ragner logo.  I’m not going to wear those around and pretend I’ve run a Ragner.  I’m going to look at that pair as a “someday I can wear these out because I will have run a Ragner relay”.  Anyone want to be on my team?  Bucket list race perhaps?

 

Have you ever run a Ragner?  Do you want to?  How do you get your workouts/runs in when your work schedule just wears you out?  Anything fun planned for the weekend?

4 Comments

  1. Never done one, but I desperately want to! I would so be on your team! I vote that we do this at some point (though obviously not this year)

    https://www.ragnarrelay.com/race/dc

    You had such a great week! It’s definitely okay to take it easy sometimes though. 🙂 You have a LOT on your plate for tomorrow!

    I have no idea what we are doing this weekend. Probably a playground at some point. 🙂

Leave a Reply

