Happy Monday and a Recipe!

How was your weekend?

I had a decent weekend – nothing out of the ordinary.  My long run was Saturday and it was okay.  It was tough – a hilly 8 miles.  Much tougher than my flat 9 miles 2 weeks ago.  This week the store had arranged for the “in house” physical therapist to meet with anyone who wanted to get looked at.  I took advantage since I haven’t seen a physical therapist since the first time I went in June. 

I told him about the trouble I’d been having with  my right knee and the exercises I was currently doing.  He said those were great and suggested I start also standing on one leg for a minute at a time to improve balance on each leg.  Overall my knee hasn’t been too bothersome, I just take it easy when it flares up.

In other weekend events, I took it easy most of Saturday.  For obvious reasons, but also because it was raining most of the day. Perfect weather for my planned dinner of Buffalo Chicken Pizza. Not exactly the healthiest of meals, but one of my fave easy meals.  To make it, all you need is a rotisserie chicken, Franks Wing Sauce (or any kind of buffalo sauce), ranch or blue cheese dressing, a pizza crust (I usually get a prepackaged thin crust), and shredded cheese (a cheddar jack mix has been my favorite, but it’s totally up to personal preference.)

Pizza Ingredients

 

For some reason I only took a picture of the ranch, wing sauce, and sauced chicken.

First step is to shred the chicken and mix in the buffalo sauce to taste. Next, spread your dressing (we like ranch at our house) on to the pizza crust. Sprinkle your buffalo sauced chicken generously over the pizza crust and then top with as much or as little cheese as you like. Bake in a 425 degree oven for 10-12 minutes. I usually follow the pizza crust directions. What comes out is ooey, gooey, buffaloey goodness.

Finished Pizza

 

Sunday I partook in the Maryland State Fair. We rode the Ferris wheel, checked out the livestock, and indulged in this:

DF NutterButter

Deep Fried Nutter Butters. There was a stand that pretty much deep fried anything…the usual twinkies, Oreos, PB&Js, etc.  Since I’m a peanut butter fan AND love nutter butters these were awesome.  The only thing that might have made them a smidge better would have been a drizzle of chocolate syrup.  

Well that was my weekend, I did run this morning and my weekend indulgences definitely had an impact, but it was an easy run, so no stress there.  Plenty of time to hydrate and fuel for track work tomorrow evening.

 

Did you do anything fun this weekend?  When it rains do you go for comfort foods?  What’s the strangest and/or most delectable thing you’ve seen deep fried?

Leave a Reply

