It’s Tunesday!

Time for a play list update!

I don’t know about you, but I tend to just create a play list and keep adding to it.  However, the last time I added to my playlist was back in May.  Three weeks ago, I ran into a problem when my playlist was finished before my run.  It wasn’t a big deal as I’m getting used to running shorter distances sans music.  Since my long runs are getting longer, I can’t afford to have my playlist run out too soon and I do tend to skip over some songs along the way.

I like to listen to songs that are upbeat and catchy.  Something that I could imagine dancing to, because dancing and running are the same right?  I also need to be able to sing along to it if I want, because sometimes it’s a good distraction to start belting out Motley Crue’s “Kickstart My Heart” during the last mile.  Am I right?  I also like to badly play air drums while I run.  Little known fact.  

So over the past few weeks I’ve added:

Pompeii – Bastille
Bang Bang – Jessie J, Ariana Grande, & Nicki Manaj
Settle Down – No Doubt
Maps – Maroon 5

Rude – Magic
Come Get It Bae – Pharell
Glad You Came – the Wanted
Love Runs Out – One Republic

Problem – Ariana Grande
Fancy – Iggy Azalea

On Top of the World – Imagine Dragons
Sing – Ed Sheeran
Shake It Off – Taylor Swift

I used to be embarrassed by my Top 40 leanings but who cares.  It makes for good running music.  

Deal With It

However, you will not find any Miley Cyrus on my iPod – I do have some dignity.  

My running playlist now has 41 songs – I hope that is long enough to last my 10 miler on Saturday.

What kind of music gets you motivated on your run?  Do you make multiple playlists?  What are the last 3 songs you added to your playlist?

6 Comments

  1. I have a whole lot of everything on my list. (Including some embarrassing top 40…and no Miley. But yes some Taylor and Katy Perry.) I have a bunch of playlists that I put together for different length runs. It works out pretty well and keeps things interesting. Let’s see…last 3 songs:

    Motley Crue: Kickstart My Heart
    Cajmere: U Got Me Up (Thanks to So You Think You Can Dance for getting it stuck in my head…totally reminded me of my old club days.)
    Aaaaand the Frozen soundtrack. But that’s not for me. 🙂

  2. My running playlist has all kinds of things on it. Yes, even Miley Cyrus. But also Billy Ray; Achy Breaky Heart is a classic! In between all the “normal” stuff there is also some Eminem, Scottish Bagpipes, and a Disney song or two. Recently, I’ve been listening to audiobooks at the beginning of my long runs and switching over to music about half way through. Whatever works 🙂

Leave a Reply

