Weekly Workout Round Up – Week #7

Well howdy!  Long time no speak!  After Tunesday, I got kinda busy and here we are again on Friday.  I had a bit of a stressful morning – so I treated myself to a skinny White Chocolate Mocha and croissant from Starbucks.  All better now.

I had another decent week of training.  And I just realized this week that my training is halfway over.  My first half marathon is just 7 weeks away!!!!

So this is how my week went.

Saturday – Long Run – 8 hilly miles.  It was a decent run, but much tougher because of the hilly route.  I was planning to run the last mile then came upon a small hill the I forgot I had run down at the start.  I ran as much as a could then power walked up it.  Although when I look at the elevation chart below, that hill is nothing but a blip.  Sure didn’t feel like it at the time.

Here is the elevation chart:

Long Run 7

It’s a very lumpy route, right?

My splits were:

Mile 1 – 12:43
Mile 2 – 11:58
Mile 3 – 13:10
Mile 4 – 12:15
Mile 5 – 13:08
Mile 6 – 11:53
Mile 7 – 13:44
Mile 8 – 12:51

While I wasn’t as consistent with pace as I would have liked, I did have a consistent pattern – so I’ll take it. 

Sunday – Active Rest Day – I hung around with Charlotte most of the day then hit up the Maryland State Fair in the afternoon.

Monday – Easy Run – I did 2.85 miles and the indulgences from the day before were rearing their ugly head.  I felt I was running a good pace, but my watch said not so much.  I am happy to report that I am still kicking my neighborhood hills’ asses.  At lunch I took a walk with my co-worker.  It was a 1.85 mile loop.

Tuesday – Speed – 5x800s – I did them!  I finished them!  The total distance, once all was said and done, was 2.75 miles and my average pace was 11:08 – my lowest EVER!  

high five

I totally took what I learned from the last speed workout debacle and made sure I didn’t run the warm up too fast (probably ran it a little too slow honestly) and I didn’t try to go all out.  I stuck to the pace I was to do them and I finished.  The last one was tough.  Especially once I realized that I was the last one left on the track.  On the bright side though, during my last loop I got use the inside lane!  Woo Hoo!  I could totally see myself doing 800s like this on my own. 

Wednesday – Yoga – another great yoga day.  Plus, I took a walk with my co-worker on my lunch break again.

Thursday – Tempo Run – I skipped this.  My knee was kinda bothering me Tuesday and Wednesday and I wanted to make sure it got some rest for Saturday’s long run.  I do regret skipping this though since my Monday run was garbage.

Friday – Rest Day – aka – write my Weekly Workout blog post.

Total Miles Run – 14.83

I’ve got my first double digit run scheduled for tomorrow.  10 Miles!  I still can’t believe I’m doing this sometimes.  I guess that’s why running is so awesome, you get to meet the person you were always capable of being – you just had to step out of your own way..

8 Comments

  1. I’m glad it’s not just me whose hardest hills show up as a tiny bump on the elevation map! Your whole run looks pretty hilly, though, so it’s probably just that your legs were already tired when you hit that one. Nice job!

Leave a Reply

