Weekly Workout Round Up – Week #8

 

This week went by way too fast. I guess that’s to be expected when you have a four day work week.  It was an interesting week, so lets get down to business, shall we?

Saturday – Long Run – 10 Miles!  This run was just fantastic in so many ways.  Afterwards, not so much.  Let’s start with the good.  The run was on the NCR Trail – I did my 9 mile run here a few weeks ago, it’s a flat run so I knew I could do it.  I started slowish the first mile and picked up the pace from mile 2 on.  I typically have taken walk breaks while running.  During this run however, I stopped once 40ish minutes in to use the bathroom and take a Gu.  I did walk for about 2 minutes at the 5 mile turnaround and then kept running.  I stopped a third time to take another Gu and that was it.  The third time I stopped I felt my ankles and legs tightening up and getting sore, once I started running they felt better, but it was hard to get started again.  Around mile 8.5 I mentally needed a walk break but when I tried to stop, my legs said no.  The soreness creeped in and I kept running instead.  So I ran about 90% of this run.  So immediately afterwards, I felt really proud of myself and thought the run was awesome.  I had the typical post run sore legs and took it as easy as I could.  My average pace was 12:33/mile.

Sunday – Active Rest – My left knee was not feeling better and it felt like the same overuse issue I had with my right knee back in May.  I just did my longest run ever, double digits even, and now you start acting up? Seriously knee?

Are you kidding me

Monday – Easy Run – I made it 2.4 miles before throwing in the towel.  My left knee was killing me.  I iced it when I got home and popped some ibuprofen.

Tuesday – Speed Day – The workout was actually canceled due to lightning and thunder activity.  I’m glad it was because I was given an extra rest day for my knee.

Wednesday – Cross Train – Did my knee exercises and iced

Thursday – Tempo – Another rest day.  When I woke up today, my knee felt much better.  There is still a little soreness, but nothing like earlier in the week.  Started day 1 of a 30-Day Plank Challenge (more on that in a later post).

Friday – Rest – I tested out a 1.25 mile run this morning. It was much better, but not pain free.

Total Miles Run – 13.71

So – here we are, another long run scheduled for tomorrow.  Originally it was supposed to be 11 miles, I’m not sure that’s going to happen.  Next weekend was going to be a pullback week anyway, so maybe I take two pullback weeks?  We’ll see. 

 

 

How do you work injury recovery into your training? How long are you running this weekend?

6 Comments

  1. I’ve been struggling this week too with niggling injuries which force me to push forward or shorten my runs, they are so frustrating! But it’s better to take a few rest days than push through pain and get injured 🙂

Leave a Reply

