All of the Feels

I am cleared to run!

Rapunzel Excited

I ran a single mile today and it felt great to be back out there!  I felt I could have run longer.  So this is what running in autumn feels like?  I need to get some reflective gear – it’s dark out there!!

So woo hoo, right?  Yes and no.  I was given the okay to ease back into it and my PT even gave me a running schedule for the next two weeks so that I can run / walk the half.  My first instinct is Yippee!!!!

I’m also feeling nervous that maybe the run won’t hurt tomorrow, maybe it won’t hurt the day after that – but what if it does start to hurt the day before, during the race, etc.  I’m so happy, excited, nervous, anxious, etc. that I don’t know what I should be feeling at any given moment.  Combine that with all the emotions I’m feeling over actually doing a half marathon and you’ve got one crazy woman on your hands.

I guess all I can do is take it one mile at a time and hope for the best.  I’ve got a 5K on Sunday – of which I will only run two miles.

What’s on your weekend agenda?  Tell me about all the feels you have after coming back from an injury or gearing up for a big race!

9 Comments

  1. Yay for the clear to run!!! Your post has given me some relief on what to expect when I get cleared to start running again.

    What was your injury again? I have subluxation of my peroneal tendon. I am patiently waiting for the results of my MRI. Fingers crossed I can be running my November 9 because I have a race.

  2. That is great news! I can totally relate to your feelings. But I think you are being really rational. Your PT is making recommendations, but the key will be listening to your body and doing what feels right. I do hope that you can easy back into running with no problems! It sounds like you are on the right track!

  3. Awesome!!!! I’m sure easing into your running will help you in the long run and that’s great you have a plan to run/walk the half! One day at a time! This coming weekend I’m running my second half marathon – pretty excited and nervous!

Leave a Reply

