My Week of Workouts

So remember when I laid out that plan of workout goals for the month of December?  It totally lit a fire under me.  I really feel like I’ve got my groove back.

I know I wasn’t going to follow up until the end of the month, but figured I would do a weekly check in.  So in the past week, these were my workouts:

12/8 – Speed intervals on treadmill at gym.  Sporadic speeds, but 1 minute sprint, 1 minute recover for 30 minutes with 5 minute warm up and 5 minute cool down.

12/9 – Spin Class & PT exercises

12/10 – Yoga (this was done at home since Brian had to leave for work early.  I found a 20 minute video on-demand)

12/12 – Run – 3 miles at the gym

12/14 – Run – 4 miles out in the neighborhood (even tackled a hill I’ve been eyeing up all year)

12/15 – PT exercises

IMG_1358.JPG

I did not make it to body pump due to scheduling issues on Thursday, but I’m feeling confident about my routine again.

I also got a NutriBullet this week.  I don’t buy into all that “superfood” stuff, but I did want a way to easily consume more fruits & veggies.  So far this is what I’ve been doing, I’ve been using spinach as my base and then adding some combo of the following: carrots, bananas, mandarins, blueberries, and apples.  I’ve also been adding a dollop of fat free vanilla yogurt as well to give it some creaminess.  When I made my first one with just water, it tasted watery.

IMG_1350.JPG

So far I’m happy with it.  I would usually take a yogurt and several pieces of fruit to work with me as part of my breakfast/lunch/snacks – sometimes I wouldn’t eat all the fruit.  Now, I’m consuming all of that, plus more greens.  Now I just need to do a little more research on which seeds and “extras” to add to them to make them good for post run / post workout recovery.

How were your workouts this week?  Have any smoothie recipes to share?  What “supplements” do you add to yours?

8 Comments

  1. Nice job on your workouts! I have a Vitamix and LOVE my smoothies! I follow a Paleo diet so I use either almond milk or coconut milk, plus my fruits and veggies. I also like to use the Siggis Vanilla Bean yogurt (comes from grass fed cows, delicious stuff and high in protein!). If I add any protein powder, I add the Tera’s Whey Organic Vanilla Bourbon. It’s another product where the whey comes from grass fed cows. If I need sweetener (which I usually don’t if I use the protein powder and/or the yogurt), I like maple syrup or raw honey.

  2. Nice job getting back into your workouts! My go to smoothie is just frozen fruit (bananas and berries usually) with spinach and/or kale, almond butter, sometimes ginger or cinnamon, protein powder, and some sort of liquid.(Lately its been orange juice). Nothing too crazy but I like knowing that I am getting all of those nutrients in!

  3. I have that same Nutribullet and that thing is a BEAST. I love it and so does Betty. I make smoothies constantly.

    Your week looks awesome and I keep getting updates on my phone when you log another one…you’re killing it! Also we are totally like two ships passing in the night at the gym although I was not there this morning. (Since I know you were at yoga. I’m such a stalker haha.)

  4. Mixing all of those veggies together and drinking them does not sound appealing to me. I know lots of people swear by it.
    I try to eat 2-3 fruits a day and 1-2 veggie servings per day. Not always easy but it does keep me from eating junk.

Leave a Reply

