2014 – A Year in Review

Wow…what a year!  I became a runner.  I still can’t wrap my mind around it.   All in one year I ran my first 5K, my first 10K, my first half marathon, and a handful of other races and runs!  It seems like only yesterday I was attempting my first run walk on the treadmill.  I’m so happy to be finishing 2014 a better person – a changed person – than when I started.

Let me start off by reviewing some goals I had set back in July when I first started blogging.

  • Finish the Baltimore Half Marathon.  No time goals here, just a finish.  (check back after October 18th for the exciting conclusion) – Did it!  Didn’t do as well as I had hoped, but did it!  I’ll see you again in 2015 Baltimore!

Finish Line

  • I’d like to drop another 20 lbs – that will put me in my healthy weight range.  At this point though, my weight loss has slowed significantly – I guess my body has gotten used to the running and I’m eating differently to fuel my running.  So I’ll be happy to be down another 10 by December 31st.  I won’t be a slave to the scale though – if I could drop another pants size, I’ll take that in lieu of 10 pounds.  If I don’t lose anything and I’m still in the same pants – I’ll take that too.  I’ll have run a half marathon – I’ll be riding that high for a while. – Didn’t lose any more weight, but haven’t gained and I’m still in the same pants.  Sounds like a win to me!
  • Shave a minute or two off my 5K time.  I’m not sure how aggressive that is or not.  I’m assuming that by running more, adding in speed work while training, and dropping a few pounds I’ll definitely get a little faster. – I have unofficially run a faster 5K, but not in a race setting.  I have added some speed work to my weekly runs this winter, so I’m hoping that will help come spring.

CTM_0010-(ZF-2907-75723-1-001)

  • Work in more cross training.  I’ve mentioned before that this training schedule has eliminated my ability to attend my favorite spin class and Body Pump class – so now I’ve got to find other alternatives.  There is a Yoga for Athletes offered at the gym on Wednesday mornings – I’m going to give that a go next week. –  I have been loving Yoga for Athletes and have gotten back to Spin and Body Pump this month.  As I work on my training schedule I’m trying to make sure I can keep going to them.

Several bloggers have been posting their Year of Running reviews.  Looks like it might have originated with Amanda over at MsZippy.  I thought it was a great way to really sum up what this year has been for me.

8 Comments

  1. This is the best best best post ever. You have accomplished such a huge amount in such a short time. You are so inspiring and Charlotte is a lucky girl to have such an amazing role model! I’m so glad that we’ve become friends this year!

    Also you take the best race pics!

Leave a Reply

