December Goals – So How’d I Do?

How was your weekend?

Mine was busy – Charlotte had her gym class on Saturday, I got my 5 miles in beforehand, then we had a birthday party in the afternoon.  That evening I had another party to go to where I watched the Raven’s beat the Steelers!  Go Ravens!

Sunday we went to the mall and got Charlotte’s three year pictures taken…I have to be honest, she was a disaster, but we got a few good ones!  I’d post one, but for some reason they aren’t showing up when I preview the post.  I’ll share them at some point.

Even though I had been posting my weekly workouts, I still wanted to share how I did compared to the goals I laid out for myself back in early December.  I had been in a workout slump, recovering from the half marathon in October, major illness in November, and just general lack of motivation.

Here is what I laid out for myself:

1. Do weekend long runs – outside!  And by long, I mean 4-5 miles. (4x in December)

2. Cross Training – Spin on Tuesday AM, Yoga on Wednesday AM, Body Pump on Thursday AM  (10 cross training classes)

3. Do a speed workout on the treadmill on Monday or Friday mornings (4x in December)

4. Do hip exercises before Spin & on rest days (8x in December)

5. Find time to do an easy run once a week.  (3x in December)

Results (& some funnies):

1. 3 out of 4 Long Runs completed.  Just getting those done made me feel back on track, plus getting them done outside in the cold has been an adventure.

winter running

2. 8 out of 10 Cross Training Classes completed.  My Wednesday yoga class was canceled last week and this week, or else I would have been 10 for 10!

Spin Class

3. 3 out of 4 Speed Workouts completed.

memerunforlife

4. 4 out of 8 Hip Exercises (PT) – I want to say that I didn’t track this very well, but I don’t think that explains all of it.  This is definitely something I need to make sure I do more regularly.

missedworkout

5. 3 out of 3 Easy Runs – Yeah!!!

runeat

Hooray for goal setting, right?  Not sure what would have happened had I not laid all that out there.

So what’s up for January & 2015 in general?  More on 2015 goals in another post later this week.  I’m currently working on my training schedule for my spring half.  I’m not doing it with a group this time, so I’m putting together a plan based on the plan I followed for my fall half.  I’m definitely going to be doing more cross training this spring than I did in the fall (mostly because this will be MY schedule).

What races are you running this spring?  Do you make up your own plan or follow one that is already put together?

12 Comments

  1. Way to go on completing those goals! Especially given all the holidays in December. You crushed it!
    I usually follow my own plan. At this point, I know how my body reacts to certain workouts and when I need a break so it’s easier for me to follow my own plan and give myself some flexibility in my schedule 🙂

  2. Great job with those goals! I’m really impressed 🙂 I’ve been training with a group for the Fall half I did and for this Spring half I’m working on. I’m not sure if I’ll continue with a group after that or will try my own thing. I look forward to hearing about your experience 🙂

  3. Awesome job getting your runs and workouts done in December! I feel like that is the most difficult month to stay on track!

    I am running a local 10K on Superbowl Sunday, the Lost Dutchman Marathon, Boston, and Grandmas 🙂 I have a coach, but I used to make my own training plans with the help of a book called Advanced Marathoning by Pete Pfitzinger!

  4. December sounds like a great month for you, way to get back on track at the busiest time of the year!

    For schedules, I usually start with a pre-made one and tweak it to my liking. This year though I’m going to try out a new one I’ve been looking into, and try to follow it pretty strictly.

  5. That’s a hell of a lot of goals and you did a great job getting into all of them! (Still bitter that class was canceled party of me. I want to go! Shoot I just realized it was tomorrow morning and I already have a run planned.)

    You would never know that Charlotte was a disaster for those pics. The ones you put up are absolutely precious. 🙂

Leave a Reply

