How is it Tuesday? Workout Review 1/4 – 1/11

Wow – Monday really got away from me.

Yesterday, morning started out with freezing rain.  I got up early to go to the gym – only to find they were opening late due to the inclement weather and my 6AM Body Pump class was canceled.  I was irritated because I missed BP last week.  I went home and did a Jillian Michaels video.  (30 Day Shred if you are interested.)

This morning I did spin class and the room was so hot.  It was insane.  Here is a picture of what the floor looked like when the class was over:

2015/01/img_15071.jpg

That’s not a fresh wax job.

The picture doesn’t do it justice.  But that glisten on the floor was everywhere and shows just how humid the room was.

This past weekend was a blur too.  I was on a purging rampage – in the best possible way.  The prior weekend I had gone through one of my dressers and got rid of a ton of clothes and organized the drawers.  This weekend I tackled my vanity and my closet.  This is part of what Brian and I got out of our bedroom.2015/01/img_1496.jpg

That’s only part of it.  We also went through our hall closet and got rid of a ton of coats, hats, gloves, etc that hadn’t seen the light of day since we moved in here in 2008.  In total, I think we had like 12 large garbage bags full of clothes and “stuff” to donate.  Next weekend it’s our bookcases.

So before I did the workout of carrying those bags out of the house, I had a full week of actual workouts.

Monday – skipped Body Pump because I was coming down with something

Tuesday – PT Exercises & Spin Class – I had no voice, but whatever I had was not in my chest, so I went and it was fine.

Wednesday – 1 Mile Run & Yoga – I had wanted to do 2 miles, but ran out of time before yoga started.  Yoga was hard this week – especially after not having it for two weeks.

Thursday – Easy 3 Miles – it’s been way too cold to run outside so this was on the treadmill right next to Salt.  We were even wearing nearly matching bright yellow shirts.

Friday – Rest

Saturday – Long Run – 4.5 Miles – I had been doing these outside, but I just couldn’t go outside when it was the teens.  Plus, I was concerned about ice.  So this, I believe was my longest treadmill run ever.  I wanted to do 5, but I had to cut it short so I could drive back home and get showered in time to take Charlotte to gym class.  Despite running on the treadmill for almost an hour, this was a great run.  I’ve been playing around with my speed when I’ve been on the treadmill to mix it up a bit.  I’ve been trying to run faster for longer periods of time.  (I guess that’s what a tempo run is – duh.)  I was really surprised that my average pace ended up at 11:52 – since I do tend to run slower on the treadmill.

Thursdays are the days that I am dedicating to really doing some speed work – so maybe I’ll push it a little more this week.

Sunday – Rest

Anywho, that’s it for today.  I feel like I got a great week of workouts in – and I actually can’t wait to start training next month.

Have you started training yet?  How are your workouts going?  How do you pass the time on treadmill when music and TV just won’t cut it?

7 Comments

  1. I hate when the gym opens late because of the weather- its like, if the weathers bad I really can’t run outside! But I guess that it makes sense for employees who need to get there if the roads are really bad.
    Sounds like a great week! I haven’t figured out any ways to pass the time on the treadmill- if you find anything out please let me know!

  2. I run A LOT on the treadmill and watch show’s on my tablet – sometimes movies if I’m running longer than an hour. Fun that you and Salt get to run together?
    I just started physio today on my hamstring and got the a-ok to run every other day along with my exercises! Fingers crossed!

  3. I love how we matched at the gym the other day. It was like we were trying to bring back summer with our shirts. Yes I did just throw out a Frozen reference.

    I WAS THERE FOR PUMP TOO! OMG that was SO annoying!!!! I stood around outside with a group of people and they didn’t even unlock the door until 6 so I ended up on an elliptical for a half hour. You were smarter to go home and do a DVD. I can understand schools being delayed for that weather, but the gym? I had to be to work on time! I am still a little bitter. (And I’m going to Pump class tomorrow and fitting in my 3 miler before that so I will be there eeeeaaaarrrllyy.)

  4. Omg that floor. That is a lot of sweat! Makes me kind of glad the floor in the spin studio at my gym is speckled black & white tile 🙂
    Jealous you & Salt go to the same gym! I don’t know anyone at mine, so I’m always relaying on some form of electronic entertainment to keep my mind occupied. If it’s not music, it’s a podcast or stand up comedy. I probably look like a psycho when I’m cracking up while running on the treadmill…

Leave a Reply

