Winner Winner Chicken Dinner!

Who is the winner?  Me!  What did I win?  A free entry into the Rock ‘n’ Roll DC Marathon & Half Marathon in March!

Iwon

So the other day I was on Facebook, doing what I do best, nothing.  When I saw that Carefirst was running a contest.  You just had to name the monument that they posted a pic of.  Three random people would be selected to win a race entry.  So on a whim I entered…it was the Lincoln Memorial.  A couple days later I received this notification:

“Congrats Sara you have been randomly selected as a winner for our Day 3 giveaway. Don’t forget to PM us in order to redeem your free entry!”
What the what?  I thought that maybe I would be entered for a drawing for the entry.  But no, I got a free entry.  The only problem though?  I cannot be ready for a half marathon in time for the race on March 14th.  If I were a more experienced runner, I probably could.  But for me, it just wouldn’t be a smart thing to do.  So I was kinda sad…thinking I wouldn’t be able to use it.  Until I went to the Rock ‘n’ Roll website and saw this:
RnRMM_USA_BootCampaign2_Logo_FullColor
They have a 5K!!!  So I registered today and now I’m adding Rock ‘n’ Roll DC 5K to my race calendar this year!  So excited (because it’s an awesome looking race and I didn’t have to pay for it).
The race is on March 14th and it’s going to be a busy weekend because the first race of the Charm City Run’s B3 Challenge is the St. Patty’s Day 5K on March 15th.  Two back to back 5Ks won’t kill me, right?
Have you ever won a race entry?  Have you ever run races on back to back days?  How did it go?  Anyone else running one of the Rock ‘n’ Roll DC races?
12 Comments

  1. That’s awesome!!! I’ve never won entry to a race before. Sounds like fun! Last year I ran a 5k and a half marathon in the same weekend (in NJ), but I chose to run the 5k at an easy pace. You’ll be fine for two 5ks!. Pick one to be your bigger goal race and the other to just have more fun with!

  2. Ah a free race entry, that’s awesome! I’m running the Rock n Roll half 🙂
    I’ve never done races back to back, but I’m thinking it’d make a good bucket list goal. I like the idea of longer races back to back though – 2 5ks could be killer. That is if you want them to be 😉

    • There’s three of you doing the half! That’s great! I think that this race weekend coincides with a 6 or 7 mile long run in my training plan – so I may push it for both races or at the very least push it on Saturday. One of my bucket list races is to do the Glass Slipper Challenge at the Disney Princess Half Marathon weekend (10K & Half) so maybe this will be good practice. 😉

Leave a Reply

