The Friday Five – Favorite Indoor Workouts

It’s that time again!  Friday!!!

I’m linking up again with Mar from Mar On the Run, Courtney from Eat Pray Run, DC, and Cynthia from You Signed Up for What?! for the Friday Five!

Friday Five

It’s been a long cold week.  Our end of the storm was a bust, but it’s been super cold all week.  I don’t see any outdoor runs in my future anytime soon.  Which is great timing for this week’s Friday Five topic – Favorite Indoor Workouts!

For most of you, these workouts will come as no surprise, because I talk about them often.

1. Spinning – I love me a good spin class.  The instructor at my gym, whom I LOVE, makes her own workouts each week.  The music is good and the class is intense.  When I can’t make it to her class, I have a spin class app on my phone.  You can program your own music and it will give you prompts when to add gear, when to speed up, stand & climb, or sit down.  It’s been great to use when I travel and there is a stationary bike or if I just go to the gym for a workout and the spin room is free.  Spinning is a great way to keep up your cardio when you can’t run (as long as your doctor approves).  I used spin to replace my runs when I had to take a break from running.

IMG_1377

Gratuitous spin shoe shot

2. Body Pump – This is my primary source of full body strength training.  It’s so great to come back after a couple weeks and add weight. The workouts are rigorous; it keeps your heart rate up while doing a full body strength workout.  I’ve always been a fan of Body Pump since I first took it back in 2005.

IMG_1534

3. Physical Therapy – I don’t go to physical therapy, but I do the exercises I was given at home on my own about twice a week.  It’s not high intensity, so I typically do it in combination with stretching and foam rolling, and I usually throw in some core work.  I had knee issues which the therapist attributed to weak quads, hips, and glutes, so I do a lot of leg lifts.

IMG_1554

Just a front leg lift while watching the Today Show. No big deal.

4.  Running on the Treadmill – While I would much rather run outside, it’s just not possible for me in this weather.  I can’t do it.  So to the gym I go to hop on the tready.  It’s been tough doing my longer weekend runs on it, but I’m getting them done.  It’s also been fun to play with my speed and push myself a little bit more than I would on my usual neighborhood route.

IMG_1581

Sorry lady in front of me…you are now immortalized on my blog.

5.  Yoga – OMG what would I do without yoga?  I’ve said it before, but it really is my weekly reset button.  I feel all stretched out afterwards and just plain “aaahhh”.  I take a class called “Yoga for Athletes” at my gym and it can be a tough at times.  The instructor is great and I twist myself into positions that I didn’t think were possible for me.  I’ve even located a yoga studio near my worksite in Cleveland to go to when I’m in town for work.  Yoga is also something I can easily do at home.  I usually do a few Sun Salutations before I start physical therapy exercises.

IMG_1341

I walk away from my mat for 2 seconds and Charlotte is in a downward dog.

So there you have it.  My favorite indoor workouts.  Even though I love all these indoor activities, I can’t wait for it to warm up…just give me some 40 degree mornings, please???

summer

17 Comments

  1. I love exactly the same indoor workouts as you (except I’ve never seen a PT *knock on wood*, & therefore don’t have PT exercises). I tend to go thought phases of months on end of yoga, or body pump or spin. I don’t have enough time to keep up with all 3 at once!
    Totally agree on the 40 degree days! & please less precipitation this winter- I’m over the icy sidewalks!!

  2. Whenever I don’t like the weather, the treadmill is my go-to. It’s ideal for this time of year. And when I’m not running, I like yoga and I am *TRYING* to appreciate biking (but I don’t have much patience for it unfortunately).
    40 degrees would feel so nice right about now!

Leave a Reply

