Workout Review and Half Marathon Training!

So how ’bout that Super Bowl? Since the Ravens were not playing,  I was rooting for the Seahawks, only to be disappointed in the end.  I was really only watching for the commercials and the excuse to eat buffalo chicken dip. Nationwide Insurance can go to hell with their commercial. I watch Super Bowl commercials to cry happy tears when the Budweiser puppy is saved by the Budweiser clydesdales…not cry out of the horrible thought of my child dieing. If you didn’t see it…don’t look it up, you’ll only be upset for the rest of the day. And after that halftime show, I am investing in a golden tiger as my main form of transportation and adding some Missy Elliott to my playlist…where has she been?

missy elliott

So let’s take a look at last week’s workouts shall we?

1/26 – Body Pump
1/27 – Spin Class
1/28 – Yoga and a 1.5 mile run
1/29 – Tempo Run. I did something different this week and actually followed my coach’s instructions from last summer. I did a 5 minute warm up at my easy pace. Then did 25 at a harder pace. Followed by a 5 minute cool down. I don’t remember what tempo speed I chose, just that it was in the 11 something per mile. I’ll have to write it down this week.
1/30 – Rest Day!
1/31 – 5.33 Miles on treadmill. I didn’t play around with my speed this week, I settled in for a long run at a comfortable pace.

So that takes us to February 1st which was the first day of my training plan and a rest day.

So I’m back in training mode! That means I have a half marathon in 12 weeks…eeek!

I’m following the same model that I followed last summer, 3-4 days of running, a speed day, a tempo day, and a long day. If I can squeeze in some easy miles here and there I will. I’m doing a couple things different this time. One is the cross training. I’m doing Body Pump on Mondays, Yoga on Wednesdays, and PT exercises on rest days or in the evenings. The other is making sure my focus on Tuesdays and Thursdays is on the effort, not the miles. I’m always so focused on the miles that I think I missed the point of some of my workouts last summer. My first month is below.

2015/02/img_1606.jpg

I finally got an app to edit my photos and put cute captions on them!

 

I love writing out my plans like this and then hanging it up in my bathroom so I can see it every morning before I leave. When I come back to shower I check off my workout and write in what I did. I did this last year when I was following a beginner 5K plan and I’ve kept doing it. When I fell off the fitness wagon after my half in October, I got myself back on track by planning out December. Here is what my January calendar looked like by the end of the month:
2015/02/img_1608.jpg

I had to drop Spin Class again, which I’m really bummed about. But I’m not superwoman and I have a family and a job. So in order to fit in the runs, I had to drop it. I felt the strength training from Body Pump and Yoga are much better for my running. While its still freezing and I’m going to the gym for my speed work, may try to get up extra early on Tuesdays to get my run in and then do half a spin class…but we’ll see. I have a hard enough time getting up as it is.

So there you have it…my next weekly update will be from my training plan. I’m really excited for this training cycle, since I’m not a newbie anymore I kinda know what I’m doing and I’m not afraid of it.

How was your weekend? Did you see that Nationwide commercial last night? How do you keep yourself on track with your training?

15 Comments

    • It needs to warm up!! I’ve been doing everything inside lately, but Saturday is looking promising as of today. I thought about getting a journal, but I need to have everything layed out and visible. If I wrote it in a journal – I’d probably never look at it again, or make the updates like I do now. I’m probably the only person I know that keeps a pen in their bathroom.

  1. I didn’t like that Nationwide Insurance commercial either – it was horrifying! Great week of running too. It’s always exciting to plan out a training schedule and then see how you fare with it. You did really well following January so I’m excited to see how February goes for you!

  2. I also like to have a schedule hung up. I use star stickers to mark the completed workouts…the kind you get in kindergarten..haha.

    This morning when I was reading all the hubub about the nationwide commercial, I couldn’t even remember it. Turns out the first 5 seconds were too boring and I stopped paying attention before the depressing part.

    • You know…star stickers sound really fun! I have some Frozen stickers around here somewhere too 😉 That’s funny you missed the commercial, I actually missed it but then my husband said “that’s F’d up” and I asked him to rewind it. I got pissed that he didn’t warn me.

  3. I do the same thing with my planner! The visual of it all helps me so much. HOORAY FOR TRAINING AGAIN! It it going to be so crazy easy for you this time. You know what to expect and you have already been working so hard through the winter.

    Oh and Natiowide can kiss my butt. That was seriously the biggest pile of marketing fail I’ve ever seen.

    • I’m doing a lot of positive things for my running this time (like strength training) so I’m really excited to see how it goes this time. I was listening to the radio this morning and they were talking about how horrible the Nationwide commercial was, and that putting that on during the Super Bowl was a major fail.

  4. Sounds like you have a solid plan for your half 🙂 I’m similar in that I have a separate calender with my workouts listed on it, and I’ll draw a line through each day after I’ve finished the workout (…or rest day).
    I agree that yoga & body pump seem more beneficial to running. Or maybe I just think so because I’m not inclined to strength train on my own, so I try to make sure I’m at least going to one or the other. Spin happens when it happens 🙂

Leave a Reply

