Friday Five Favorites – Things To Do on a Snow Day!

Uggh…not that I’ve had many snow days this winter, but I’m just sick of the cold, ice, snow, bad weather, etc.  I just want it to warm up so I can spend some time outdoors!

2015/03/img_1988.jpg

At least it’s pretty…

When I have a snow day, that usually means I’m doing some combo of working and trying to entertain Charlotte.  At the time I was writing this, she was quietly entertaining herself on her little tablet.  That was not the case earlier in the morning when she was emptying my purse all over the floor, broke a pair of my headphones, and just generally acting like a 3 year old.  I was not meant to be a stay at home mom.  To those of you that do, I salute you!

I’m linking up this week with the DC Trifecta, Courtney, Mar, and Cynthia for the Friday Five.  I figured that I would make today’s Friday Five all about Snow Days!

Friday Five

The theme this week is Favorites, so without further ado, here are my favorite things to do on a snow day!

1. Wear comfy pants and socks – Wear something warm and cozy?  Don’t have to tell me twice.  Not that I need an excuse to wear comfy pants, but they are particularly warranted on a snow day.  I got those socks to wear in the hospital when I had Charlotte, my feet and legs were so swollen that I couldn’t wear them…odd fact.

2015/03/img_19941.jpg

2.  Make cookies & drink hot cocoa – If you have a small child at home, you need to keep some ready to bake cookies on hand at all times.  It’s a fun activity for them and they get to help you which makes them happy.  Then later on you can bribe them into submission with the promise of another cookie.

2015/03/img_19951.jpg

Don’t forget the marshmallows!

3. Watch movies – We went old school today.

2015/03/img_1985.jpg

4.  Write a blog post – Why not?  Charlotte is watching a movie, I need to take advantage of the 10 minutes she’ll be occupied while I can.

5. Play in the snow!  I mean c’mon, how can I not?

2015/03/img_19911.jpg

Another gratuitous Charlotte pic.

Did you have a snow day today?  What’s your favorite thing to do on a snow day?  Do you have a favorite Disney movie?

 

20 Comments

  1. The Cape got all of the snow last night, so here in Boston it’s work as usual. I think we’ve had enough snow days.
    My snow days turn into work from home days so not much relief.
    Enjoy and have a great weekend.
    Andy

  2. Yep, had a snow day yesterday and enjoyed it. I think napping and taking my time with a pot of tea in the morning were my favorite parts. Though my husband enjoyed it less because of the shoveling 😦

  3. It’s always good to look on the positive side of this mess because we can’t seem to escape it! Your day looks a lot like ours did yesterday except we had cake instead of cookies. It does make it at least a little bit worth it watching them play in the snow though. 🙂

    Comfy socks and pants were DEFINITELY on the menu. I wish I was still wearing them right now.

  4. Those sound like great snow day activities! I love the part about hot chocolate and marshmallows. This was something I always treasured as a kid and I will continue loving it – though now I spice it up with some Mexican hot chocolate!

    Charlotte looks adorable playing in the snow!
    Oh and my favorite Disney movie would probably still have to be The Lion King. But it really is so hard to make a decision!

Leave a Reply

