Frederick Half Marathon – Week 5

Surprise!  I ran a race yesterday and PRd.  But if you follow me on Instagram or Facebook you might have already known that – because only this morning have I stopped posting about it.  🙂  It was a 10K put on by the Baltimore Road Runners.  I’ll do a full recap later this week, but was stoked to PR by over 5 minutes.

OMG

Frederick Factoid #4.

I totally slacked this week on Frederick Factoids.  Can I take a pass and come back with a new factoid next week?

Last week’s training was kinda screwy because of the weather, but I got it done.  I also started to come down with a little cold on Thursday into Friday.  Thankfully, my run Friday went okay and whatever it was had subsided by Saturday.  It had me worried for a split second.

Sunday – PT, core work, yoga

Monday Body Pump – 30 Day Shred Levels 2 & 3 – Ice Storms from the weekend forcing a late opening at the gym and Brian needed to leave early for work anyway forced my hand.  I miss BP.  (I totally made it today though!)

Tuesday – Speed Work – The plan was to do 5x800s again.  I think I made one a 400 when I wasn’t paying attention.  I need to do a better job keeping track of the speeds I’m using on the treadmill.  I don’t use the same speed every time, so I should probably do a better job of recording it after the workout.  I ended up doing 3.75 miles averaging a 12:10 pace.  I was walking in between some of the intervals.

Wednesday – Yoga – Brian had to get to work early again, so I did yoga at home.  I found a free 20 minute video on demand.  It wasn’t very challenging.  I did some additional core work and did my PT exercises.  I really would like to find a yoga video that isn’t trying to melt me down…just a straightforward yoga video.  Nothing wrong with Jillian, but just want something a little more yoga.

ThursdayTempo Run – Snow Day!  It was snowing all day so running outside wasn’t going to happen.  I did some shoveling and playing though.  So there was some calorie burn.

FridayRest – Tempo – I hit the gym after work so that I could get a few miles in.  I ended up getting 3 miles in.  I did the first easy and picked up the pace for the 2nd & 3rd.  The average pace ended up at 11:54.

Saturday Long Run – Rest Day – I signed up for the race on Sunday at the last minute, so this became a “rest” day.  I use quotes because we ended up going to the mall and walking around a lot.  And anyday home with Charlotte is not rest – and I mean that in the best possible way.  🙂

Total Miles – 6.75 (13.95 if count the race from yesterday)

The next few weeks have me a bit irrationally concerned.  I should have run 8 this weekend and I only did 7.  Next weekend I have two 5Ks – one Saturday & one Sunday – I should be going for 8-9 miles.   Should I try to run another 3 miles at some point next weekend to get a total of 9 done for the weekend or just let be?  If I don’t, will it be too much to try and run 9 the following weekend?  Kinda makes me regret yesterday’s race because it threw my long run schedule off.  I know I’m being ridiculous – but I like to overthink things and ruminate them into the ground.

Would going for 9 miles in two weeks be too much or should I readjust my long run schedule?  Can you recommend a good yoga video?  How was your weekend?

9 Comments

  1. It wouldn’t be your first go-around with 9 so I don’t think it should be an issue. This is very much like what I was going through last year with a lot of races near my big race so I know the stress (hence why I’m not racing at all until Jersey is out of the way). It ended up being successful for me though and I think it will be for you too. These races will be a good opportunity to work on speed so I would use your speed workout during the week to focus on other things just so you don’t burn yourself out. 🙂

  2. I would say it kind of depends how you feel next weekend. If you had time I would say to try to get the 9 in during the week. Another option is to plan to only race one 5k and make the other one part of a long run and keep the pace easier. It gets complicated to add mileage with alot of races, but I’m sure you will still get the training in!

  3. Oooh great week! I can’t wait to hear about the 10k!
    As for plans for next week, it would likely be best to add a few miles to one of the 5k’s if you’re able to. If you aren’t, it’s no biggie though and I still believe you’ve done enough to be ready for a 9 mile run the next weekend.

  4. I can’t wait to hear about your PR race…congrats! As for going 9 after 7 with a week in between, I think you’ll be fine. Going up by two miles isn’t totally crazy. I don’t know what your schedule is, but another option could be to go up by 1.5 twice , so instead of 7, 9, 10, you’d have 7, 8.5, 10. Whatever you decide, I think you’ll be fine. Neither option seems bad to me.

Leave a Reply

