Friday Five – A Day In the Life

Who has to thumbs and was traveling for work again this week?  This girl!  I flew down to Atlanta on Tuesday afternoon and daylight savings had caught up to me…it was brutal.  I was supposed to not get back home until after 11 last night, but thankfully, I was able to get on an earlier flight and get home to see my Charlotte before bedtime.

Since it’s Friday, I’m linking up again with the DC Trifecta!

Friday Five

So today for the Friday Five,  Courtney, Mar, and Cynthia wanted to hear about my day!  Typically I have pretty boring days, but figured a day of travel might be more interesting than the norm…so without further ado, here is my “Day in the Life” in pictures!

My day started out well, with a good run and a healthy breakfast.

2015/03/img_2022.jpg

I had to laugh when I saw the back of my shirt.  The gym at the hotel was really humid, even when I turned the air down to 62 I was still sweating up a storm.  When I saw the back of my shirt, my back sweat made a happy face.  I decided to do a 4 mile progressive tempo run, but because I kept stopping and starting, I can’t really call it a tempo.   My legs just didn’t want to do it.  I finished the last mile strong though, and that made it a good run.

2015/03/img_2023.jpg
This hotel provided a free breakfast buffet.  I went with oatmeal and added some brown sugar, raisins, dried cranberries, almonds, and walnuts.  I added some fresh pineapple,  also got some protein with two hard boiled eggs.  Don’t forget the coffee!  (The coffee actually kinda sucked, so I stopped at the Starbucks on my way to the office.)

My work day was pretty boring.  My daughter had sent me to Atlanta with her Sofia doll, so I took a picture of Sofia working at a computer.

2015/03/img_2025.jpg
Since we were slow and they didn’t need me down there as late as they originally thought, I got an earlier flight home.  My worksite is an hour away from the airport though without traffic, so I had to book it out of there.  Of course I hit traffic.  Then there was construction on the way to rental car return.  And I could tell the airport was generally busy, which meant that the security line would be awful, and I was right.

2015/03/img_2026.jpg

I was in the security line at about 3:30 and my flight was leaving at 4:20.  That doesn’t sound too bad, except that this line is insanely long and after I get through that I have to take a shuttle to my terminal.  I got through the line at about 3:55 and got to my shuttle, with only enough time to grab a quick snack before boarding.  I just grabbed something that seemed healthy and then realized it was a bag full of chocolate.  Worse things have happened.

2015/03/img_2028.jpg
Then I settled into my seat and pulled out my iPad to read a new book I downloaded.


Nothing like a little Jim Gaffigan to make you look like a crazy person giggling to yourself.  “When I talk about food, I like to think I’m like one of those sportscasters who used to play professionally. I’m like the Ray Lewis or Terry Bradshaw of eating. I’m like the Tony Siragusa of eating. Well, that’s a little redundant.” 

Okay so that was more than five things, but it was a long day.  I forgot to take pictures of my lunch, but if you are ever in the Buford, GA area,  stop by Rico’s World Kitchen – it was amazing!  I had fried green tomatoes and a Chicken Cuban that was out of this world!

Thankfully, I don’t have any more travel on my calendar until April.  So that’s it!  That was my day yesterday.  I came home to a house that missed me and I got lots of snuggles and kisses and lots of “Mommy I was missing you!”  “I’m so glad you’re home”.  Can’t beat that!

 

How was your day?  Have you ever listened to or read Jim Gaffigan?  Has your sweat ever sent you a secret message?

 

 

 

11 Comments

    • It’s not so bad when I can make my own schedule…it’s when someone else is telling me when and where to be somewhere. I’m eh on hotel gyms, you just don’t know what you are going to get. This hotel only had one treadmill so I was praying it wasn’t in use when I got down there. And the TV on it wasn’t working, so I had to stare at a blank screen for 40 minutes.

  1. I LOVE JIM GAFFIGAN! I have two of his comedy cds on my phone for long runs. He’s one of my favorite comedians. That’s great that you got to come home a little early! I’m always so inspired by how motivated you are to work out while traveling for work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

