Frederick Half Marathon Training – Week 7

Look, I’m getting caught up!  Although I do not have a Frederick Factoid this week.  I know, I know.  You guys were all waiting with baited breath to find out what else was so awesome about Frederick.  Sorry to disappoint.

gilly

This week in training wasn’t anything exciting.

Sunday – Kelly’s Shamrock 5K – 3.1 miles

Monday – PT, Yoga & Stretching

Tuesday – 3 Miles & Yoga – Real Yoga with Jeff – This was a yoga class taught by a family friend. I always knew he taught yoga, but he’s never taught anywhere convenient to where I live.  His classes are more meditative and breath focused.  It’s not as physically intense as the other classes I do, so it’s a nice complement to everything else I do all week long.  He teaches a couple times a week and I’m going to start going on Thursday evenings.

Wednesday –  PT & core work

Thursday – 5x800s – 3.4 miles.  This was a great and challenging run.  It of course was on the treadmill, because winter just wouldn’t leave!  I did a .5 mile warm up, then a half mile each at 5.3, 5.3, 5.4, 5.5, 5.5 with one minute walk breaks in between.  The 5.5 speed isn’t something I go up to very often, but decided to try it twice this week.

FridaySnow Day Rest Day – I actually took the day off of work and was so happy to not have to drive to work in the snow.  WTF? Mother Nature.  I decided to go to the movies by myself and I saw Cinderella in case you were wondering.  And yes, it was good!

Saturday – Work Event, on my feet most of the day.  Not how I like to spend the day before a long run.

Sunday – White Hall 15K, with .5 mile warm up – 9.7 miles total.  I probably won’t recap this.  Salt did an awesome recap here.  It was my second race with the Baltimore Road Runners and it did not disappoint.  From the $2 entry fee to the free pictures (I didn’t like mine, so you won’t be finding them here) to the Peeps and Jelly Beans at the finish.  I’m looking forward to more races with them.  One race highlight for me  was that I was following a woman for most of the race.  Her pace was similar and we chatted a bit here and there.  During the last mile she started to slow down and I was able to pull ahead of her.  That was probably one of my most favorite running moments this year so far.  🙂

Total Miles – 19.2

So now that I’m nearing the end of my training cycle, I’ve got 3 more long runs before I start to taper.  I’ve had to adjust the rest of my schedule to make sure I hit the miles that I wanted to hit before tapering.  So I’m planning the following long run schedule:

3/28 – 11 Miles
4/4 – 13 Miles
4/11 – 11 Miles
4/18 – Sole of the City 10K – Taper Time!
4/25 – 5 Miles
5/3 – RACE DAY!!!

I thought I was going to have one more pull back week but it just didn’t work out.  I think it worked out during training last summer because the training cycle had a few more weeks to it.  See this makes it seem that much closer!!!  I can’t believe it will be in just over a month.

Also, we are 2 months out from the Baltimore Color Run on May 23rd.  If you are in the area or want to come to the area and run, use discount BALTIMORE5 to save $7 off your registration.  Look at all the fun you’ll miss if you don’t!

participantkit_2015_2

Did you like Gilly?  Have you had any great run or race moment yet this year?

7 Comments

  1. Good luck on the rest of your training for the Frederick Half! I ran it last year (my first half marathon!) and enjoyed it. Also, love the Color Run — so fun! My sister and I did the one at National Harbor. 🙂

  2. I can’t believe how fast this year is going so far. This spring is FLYING! Great week and honestly that Jeff class sounds exactly like what I could use right now. I might head over there tonight. Strenuous yoga is out for me right now. 😦

    • You should totally check out Yoga with Jeff. It’s small and intimate. I’m going to start going on Thursdays since Friday is a rest day anyway so I can fully reap the benefits. This year has been flying – when I look at my calendar and break it down into long runs it’s so weird to be almost there. Your race is even CLOSER!!!

Leave a Reply

