Frederick Half Marathon Training – Week 8

Happy Monday!  The temperatures this week are looking much better than what we had this weekend.  Saturday we had snow and yesterday I ran my coldest run ever, 21 with a “feels like” of 12.  In the last weekend. Of March.  I wore my base layer pants for the first time under my fleece pants, wore a short sleeve over a long sleeve and my fleece jacket.  Unbelievable.

weather

Frederick Factoid

This week’s factoid isn’t a fact, like the last one, it’s more of an ad for one of my favorite things to do growing up in Frederick…and that’s going to the Great Frederick Fair.   Every September when the Great Frederick Fair rolled into town we could not wait to go.  The Frederick County school system even gave all the schools a Friday off to go to the fair.   The fair really isn’t anything special, just your typical county fair, but I always try to go back.  The same gyro stand is still always in the same spot, the piglets are still always in the same pen, and the midway still has the Zipper.  There’s popcorn, cotton candy, and all the new fangled deep fried treats.   It takes me back in time a little.  They always usually had some really great concerts.  I never went to any of the shows there, but they usually get some big name country acts.  Last year they even got STYX.  I’ve been to the Maryland State Fair and it’s much bigger, so I do prefer the smaller Frederick Fair.  The Frederick Half Marathon actually begins outside of the fairgrounds and ends on the track inside.  If you are ever looking for some small town fun in September, I highly recommend the Great Frederick Fair.

Zipper

You couldn’t pay me to get on this thing now!

This weeks workouts were uneventful.  They were all leading up to a weekend long run which I had been hoping the weather would warm up a bit for, but it didn’t.

Monday –  My legs were still hummin’ from Sunday’s 15K, so I decided to do some yoga that I had found on TV and DVRd.  It wasn’t bad, but it did have commercial breaks which was annoying.  I also did some foam rolling and stretching

Tuesday – 3.41 miles on the treadmill.

Wednesday – Yoga for Athletes – Finally made it back to my Wednesday AM yoga and it did not disappoint.

Thursday – 3 miles progressive on the treadmill & Real Yoga with Jeff in the evening.  I was starting to come down with something, but felt better after running and felt fine the rest of the day.

Friday – Rest – My usual rest day, but was hoping the rest would help whatever was plaguing me, allergies, a cold, whatever it was move along.

Saturday – Rest – Still dealing with the cold or whatever and had already planned to move my long run to Sunday.

Sunday – 11 Miles – My cousin ran the first half if this with me, she ran her first 6 miles today!  Her first race will be the Sole of the City 10K in April and I’m so happy for her!  I have to admit, the start of the run was a bit of a struggle.  I had to stop a couple of times.  Partly because of the cold, partly because of the allergy/cold/I don’t know what I’ve been dealing with since about Wednesday.  The second half went much better and it got done.  I took the Nimbuses out for their first official long run and they did not disappoint.

2015/03/img_2111.jpg

Total Miles – 17.41

This Saturday I have my longest run scheduled before backing off – 13 miles.  I’m really excited to have not been plagued with any injuries this time around (I’m knocking on wood as I type).  I’ve been so nervous waiting for a shoe to drop.  Maybe it’s the experience, maybe it’s the cross training, maybe it a little of both, but I’m really excited that my training is working to prepare me for this race.  Four more long runs to go!

 

Did you run/race this weekend?  How cold was it?

10 Comments

  1. I am still in complete disbelief that it snowed over the weekend. I felt like a fool in a spring dress at the wedding I went to.

    Your training has been unbelievably awesome and I just know you are going to have a great race! Awesome job out there on Sunday. Everything will probably feel a million times easier during the actual race because the temps will be so much better. 🙂

  2. You’ve really been doing great with all the cross training – I’m sure that’s helped you stay injury free! Keep it up, that’s for sure! And great run on Sunday btw! I wimped out because of the cold and did my long run on the treadmill but I’m perfectly fine with that decision 🙂

  3. Ugh, I heard about the snow this Saturday. Gross. Mother Nature has some serious issues this year – give us a break for crying out loud! Great job getting your long run in regardless though (and congrats to your cousin on her first 6 miler!) 🙂
    That is so cool that the school systems give kids off for the fair – I’ve never heard of that. I used to be part of a couple 4-H clubs in middle school but luckily our county fair was in the summer.

Leave a Reply

