Friday Five – It’s a Good Thing

So after Monday’s training post about how awesome training was going, the shoe that I had been waiting for dropped.  I think the saying is actually waiting for the other shoe to drop, but I digress.  That cold/ allergies / not sure what it was hit me like a truck on Monday.  I went to the Target clinic after work and told it was just a cold, but my ears looked infected so thankfully I was given an antibiotic.  I was coughing and hacking all through the night.   Tuesday morning I woke up with my left eye covered in goo (not Gu unfortunately.)  Pink eye. I’m 35 years old, why am I getting pink eye?   Oh yeah, I have a preschooler in the house.  Charlotte had pink eye two weeks prior and she had some eye drops left over so took those, took my other meds, and snuggled in bed all day and watched the entire season of Girls.  Sorry Target clinic, but this was more than a cold, if you hadn’t given me antibiotics, I’d probably still be dying today.

Since I feel like I’ve finally kicked this sickness in the bootay, I’m linking up for the Friday Five!  Since it’s Good Friday and all, the theme is GOOD THINGS!  I like this – especially after the week I’ve had.  Courtney, Mar, and Cynthia, couldn’t have planned a better theme.

Friday Five

Needless to say, I haven’t been working out or running all week.   The week I’m supposed to run 13 miles I’m stricken with illness.  <shakes fist in the air>.  My cough did subside enough that I felt I could get up and run a little this morning, so I did.  I was going to go to the gym, because that’s what I’ve been doing every weekday morning since December.  So imagine my surprise when I go outside and it’s 60 freakin’ 4 degrees outside at 5 AM  (Good thing #1).   I ran upstairs and grabbed my Garmin and went to town.  And it hurt.

2015/04/img_2116.jpg

Hello old friend…

I have been doing my long runs on the flatish trail, so my hilly neighborhood was a shock.  You know what else was a shock?  Running in warm weather.  Those out door trail runs were all in temps in the thirties or below.  I ended up taking my handheld water bottle just in case.  Despite not having run these hills in a while and the multitude of walk breaks it wasn’t a terrible run.

2015/04/img_2117.jpg
Good Thing #2 – Spring Break has started in area schools so that means…no traffic today!!  Woo Hoo!

Good Thing #3 – Last week JessRunsHappy posted on her blog about Lia Sophia going out of business.  I went on their site and they had so many cute things at such great prices that I couldnt resist!  I updated my jewelry wardrobe a bit and it all came in the mail on Wednesday.

flower pot

Went a little outside my comfort zone with this one, but it’s really cute and springy!

Good Thing #4 – Girls – I love that show, and the best part of this season (spoiler alert) Hannah didn’t end up with Adam at the end.

Good Thing #5 – Passover starts tonight.  Two nights of family dinners loaded with carbs, brisket, Matzo Ball Soup, and laughs.

Passover

 

So there it is!  Five Good Things!  After this weeks’ illness I wasn’t sure I’d have it in me to come up with something good.  Maybe that’s what this morning’s run was for, to get me back on track.  Now I just have to decide if I should take it easy this weekend and go for 13 next weekend or try and go for it and see what happens.  Decisions Decisions.

Happy Easter to all of you celebrating and Happy Passover to those of you celebrating!  Hope you have a wonderful weekend!  I think spring is here!!!!

 

What are weekend plans?  Would you go for the full 13 after having been sick all week?

13 Comments

  1. Ah so sorry you have to deal with being sick. If you’re feeling better and up to it, I would definitely try to stick with your schedule. You’ve been so on top things that having a couple days off shouldn’t affect your ability to tackle those miles 🙂 But see how you feel on long run day and definitely just listen to your body.

  2. Oh man, so sorry you have been sick! I would say to just see how you feel as you run. Sometimes once I am better, I am immediately better and can go back to doing my regular activities. Other times, its a much slower recovery. Either way, I hope you can get a good run in this weekend!

Leave a Reply

