Frederick Half Marathon Training Week 9

This is going to be a short post.  As I mentioned Friday, I had been sick all week.  So not much in the way of running or any other physical activity had taken place.

sick

This weekend was busy too.  Besides the holiday festivities almost all weekend, I had to pack for another work trip.  I left this morning (Monday) at 7:30, which meant getting to the airport at 5:30, which meant waking up by 4 in order to get ready and on the road.  I didn’t think it would be so bad, but I’m not taking that early of a flight again.

So needless to say, I’m a wee bit tired as I type this.  Thankfully it’s a short post.

Last week’s workouts:

Monday – Rest

Tuesday – Sick

Wednesday – Sick

Thursday – Sick

Friday – 3 Miles!!!  I wrote about this in detail last Friday, but it sure did feel good.

Saturday – Rest

Sunday – 13 Miles – This was not a pretty run.  The first three miles were a struggle.  It didn’t help that I had to pee about a quarter mile in.  I ran back to the porta potty and someone had pooped all over the seat.  Like all over.

gross

C’mon!  Not fair!  I had to go, so I held my breath and squatted.  The next 7 miles weren’t too bad.  I kept telling myself I could stop at 10 or 11 if I wasn’t feeling it.  I was getting ready to pass my car at mile 9.5 and took a short break.  It was at this point that I should have refilled my water bottle before moving on, but I didn’t and that made those last 3.5 miles total crap.  Or at least that’s what I blame it on.  I tried to keep the walking even with the running…I’m not sure I was successful.  BUT – I finished 13 miles!!!!  I saved the extra .1 for race day.

Total Miles – 16

While the week did not go as planned and neither did the run, I did finish 13 and now it’s time to taper.  I made it!

I hope everyone had a great weekend!  I leave you with this:

2015/04/img_2134.jpg

Did you get outside and enjoy the weather this past weekend?  How did you celebrate your holidays?

 

8 Comments

  1. Ughhhhh I didn’t realize you had so much sick time last week. It’s so tough getting those long run miles in after having to take it easy! I’m so glad it’s behind you and now things can get back to normal.

    As far as that porta john is concerned, WHAT THE HELL MAN!? That is so uncool! Like it had to have been done on purpose because who does that by accident and just leaves it? SO wrong.

  2. It’s just the pitts when you are so sick but your body needed the rest. We didn’t get outside last weekend as it was still super cold and we got rain then SNOW! I don’t even know if Spring will ever happen here we might just go right to summer WITH snow 😉

Leave a Reply

