Frederick Half Marathon Training – Week 10

Last week flew by, and so it this week too.  It’s Wednesday and I’m just now getting around to posting Week 10’s workouts.

Work and personal life has been super busy and blogging hasn’t really been on the top of my priorities.  I know I’ve fallen behind in reading some of my faves and my posts aren’t anything of much substance.  Guess I’m feeling a little insecure about my lack of blogging activity.  Right now I just want to get through the half marathon and the next few work weeks and see what’s what.  I’ve got all sorts of posts in my head, but nary a minute to formulate them into something worth reading.  I won’t let you down though!  You’ve stuck with me this long just reading posts about my workouts…I want to give you a little bit more…just like all of you give to me.

Okay – enough with the Frederick Factoids.  I’ve depleted all my interesting facts!  It’s a great little town with a cool downtown.  It wasn’t much to grow up in back when I lived there, but it’s come a long way since 1998.  So go pay it a visit for a day trip if you are in the area.

Here is how my workouts went last week:

Monday – Rest.  My legs were super sore from Sunday’s miserable 13 miles.  I rested as much as I could, since I was traveling.

Tuesday – 2miles & 80 Minutes of Yoga.  When I travel to the Cleveland area I stay in Westlake and last summer I discovered a really great yoga studio called Krysia Energy Yoga.  A couple nights a week they offer Candlelight Basics.  It is just basic poses, with a few extra things thrown in.  I really just wanted to get all the stretching since I was still sore and tight.

Wednesday – Rest

Thursday – I finally felt back to normal.  I did 5x800s on the hotel treadmill.  Four at the 5.5 speed and the last at 5.6.  I’ve never started at that speed with the intervals before, so to finish it put me over the moon.

However, after that my knees started bugging me.  Nothing persistent or even painful, but just a little something that wasn’t there before.  So I was mindful of it the rest of the weekend.

Friday – Rest

Saturday / Sunday – I wanted to do 8 miles Saturday, but I woke up in the middle of the night and couldn’t get back to sleep.  I was so tired in the morning that I put it off til Sunday.   I ended up doing my PT exercises and a little yoga.  I did a 1 minute 40 second plank.  I might have been able to hold it longer, but Charlotte started patting my butt.

It was a great run on Sunday morning.  The weather was awesome, I felt good the entire time and felt I could have kept going.  And my knees didn’t bother me afterwards like they did after my Thursday run.  I’m still staying on top of it, but I’m hopeful the reduction in mileage over the next few weeks will help keep it calm.

Earlier in the week, I actually debated how far to go.  I felt like I needed at least another 10-11 mile run to feel solidly prepared.  I checked my training plan from the fall and the taper did go from a long run of 11-13 down to a long run of 7-9.  For the past 6 weeks, I’d been on a steady mileage increase so I figured I would follow the taper plan.  My 10 & 11 mile runs went well previously, so I’m pretty sure I’ll be fine physically – right now it’s all mental I guess.  Is this what they call the taper crazies?  Not feeling prepared?

Total Miles – 13.65

So this week I’ve got a work event on Friday, a 10K on Saturday, and who knows what on Sunday.  Hope you all are having a marvelous week!

Would you have crammed in another 10 miles or is that the taper crazies talking?  Did you get out and enjoy the weather this weekend?

5 Comments

  1. Great job on your repeats! It’s super exciting when you do them faster than you have in the past 🙂
    I think 8 miles is fine if that’s what your plan called for. I always go by the plan (though sometimes I shuffle some days around), and have felt prepared on race day. I think it’s part of the taper madness to feel unprepared. And they say you can’t gain fitness during the taper, so less is better.

  2. Most of my blogging posts are my weekly mileage reviews too so no worries. I actually think the best posts are where you see the work everyone’s putting into their running 😀
    You are doing great with following your schedule and you’ll be fine with those 8 miles. I think we all struggle toeing the line between thinking we’re doing too little and then overdoing it. Better to err on the side of caution. You’ve had plenty of good runs at this point and don’t forget that the race atmosphere tends to push you even more than you ever could in training!

Leave a Reply

