Race Recap – Sole of the City 10K

This was my first time running Sole of the City and the race did not disappoint.  Charm City Run events never do.  Sole of the City was the 2nd leg of the B3 Challenge.  The first was the Shamrock 5K last month the last will be the Charles Street 12 in September.  The premium they give out is just awesome.  This year it was an Under Armour all weather hoodie.  It’s lightweight and the color is divine – it’s a pretty shade of blue/green with the Sole of the City logo on the back and the Charm City Run logo on the front.

IMG_2216

This race was especially fun because my cousin Michelle was running it too and it was her first race ever!  She just started running in January and is doing awesome.

2015/04/img_2163.jpg

A before race snapshot.

The day before, I was at the conference I had organized so I spent most of the day on my feet.  My dogs were so tired!  Plus my knee was twinging!  I was actually really nervous to run.  Friday night I took an Epsom salt bath and taped my knee as a precautionary measure.  I didn’t want to take any chances.  I feel asleep at about 8:30 Friday night.

The race day weather was predicted to be beautiful and HOT.  Not 90 degrees hot, but in the 70s.  The last time I ran in the 70s?  Probably last August…I’m not lying (or at least it felt that way).  The race was starting at 9AM so it’s a little later than your typical race so I knew it was going to be a warm one.  I had to dig around in my closet to find some sunscreen and made the realization that I don’t have any good sports face sunscreen.  (Got some on Sunday – summer running season I’m coming for you!)

We met up at around 7 to head downtown.  I’m a big fan of getting to races early.  I’d rather get some parking and have time to go to the bathroom and sit and relax a bit than be stressed about parking and having time to pee.  With downtown races, parking can be so questionable.  You just don’t know.  We got a parking space in the lot right behind the start / finish area and we even had time to do a little shopping at Charm City Run.  Our race bibs conveniently had a coupon on the back.  I bought a new Under Armour tank that I may debut at Frederick (it will be tested first though, don’t worry.)

2015/04/img_2170.jpg

At about 8:45 we made our way to the start line and this was the crowd behind us.  We even got a chance to meet the Green Turtle!

2015/04/img_2166.jpg

We stood around waiting for the official start chatting, then it was go time.  Michelle has been doing really well pacewise so I told her to just run her race and we’d meet up at the end.  I was really afraid of starting to fast so I kept it steady.  The first mile or so was flat with some downhills.  Most of the race was flat up until the last mile or so.  There were two water stops, one just after mile 2 that I couldn’t wait for.  Then the next one was right after mile 4 – which I don’t think they were prepared.  When I got there, the cups were scarce and they were pouring water out of the jugs into the coolers, but not fast enough.  People were just grabbing cups and dipping into the water (kinda gross, but it was hot!).  Michelle said that she’s pretty sure she grabbed a used cup to drink from.

I had thought about bringing my handheld bottle with me then decided against it, thinking that the water stops would be enough.  I regret that decision only because it was so hot.  It would have been nice to be able to take a sip when I needed it on such a hot day.  I’m thinking that in future 10Ks, my handheld will be going with me.

The last mile was all uphill pretty much, I ended up walking more than I wanted.  Frankly in the 5th and 6th miles I fell off the rails a bit.  So I didn’t PR, but it wasn’t my worst 10K, but I got in my own way a bit.  Which is something I’m working on.

When I crossed the finish line, I got my water and got into the food line.  Got my goodies then went to meet up with Michelle outside of World of Beer.  A beer sounded realllllly good about then so we went and sat down and enjoyed a Summer Shandy (or two) and I ordered my giant pretzel.

Charm City Run events are always a blast and so well organized.  I’m definitely keeping this race on my list for next year.

 

What’s your post race food of choice?  Are there any races that you repeat year after year?

 

 

2 Comments

  1. I can’t imagine racing in the 70s right now! I think I would’ve died a bit as well. But it’s great you got to enjoy pre and post race with your cousin!
    I LOVE Charm City Run events. I’ll be repeating the Baltimore 10 miler & Chuck 12 this year 🙂

  2. It was a really hot day on Saturday. I went for a run in the morning and could feel the heat already. I can’t believe you had to race in that! I hope weather for your half marathon is better 🙂
    There are two races that I run every year now. The first 5k I ever did in 2011, I also ran in 2013 and ’14 and I plan on doing it this year too! And the NJ Half in Long Branch is my favorite half that I’ve PR’d both times I’ve run it so far. This weekend will be my third time! Both of these are extremely well organized and so fun and I can’t resist running them 🙂

Leave a Reply

