Friday Five – Blogs to Love!!

Happy Friday!  T-minus 9 days until the Frederick Half Marathon (not that I’m counting).  Let the weather stalking commence!!!  Right now I’m seeing mostly sunny with a low of 50 and a high of 74.  Perfect!!!  I’ve got a 5 miler on tap this weekend that I’ll be doing in my neighborhood so it looks like all my hilly runs have been done during the taper, super!  Thanks winter from hell!  I’ve been looking at my training over the past 3 months and I’ve got some goals for the race that I’ll share in next week’s final weekly recap.

So this weeks theme is Blogs to Love!!!  Everything has been about the love lately and I’m lovin’ it.  Aside from our lovely hosts’ blogs, Courtney, Mar, and Cynthia, here are a few more that I love to check out regularly.  In no particular order.

blogging

Run Salt Run – She is my running hero.  Ms. Salt, whom I’m blessed to know in person, is just all around awesome sauce.  She’s a great athlete, a great mom, and a beautiful person.  Her blog is fun to read and what you read is what you get with her.  She encouraged me to start this blog, and I’m so glad I did!  Please go wish her luck, she’s running her second marathon in New Jersey this weekend!

The Country Cook – Totally not running or health related, but this site is chock full of easy family friendly recipes.  My favorite sections are the crock pot section and the dessert section.  I’ve made the Beef Dip Sandwiches, Taco Soup, Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches, and the Party Meatballs.  I’ve also made a few of the poke cakes to take to family gatherings.  Those are always a hit.

Running Out of Wine – Lisa is another one of my running heroes and she’s a local Baltimore runner.  When I first started running I was always trying to find race recaps and that’s how I discovered her blog.  I also love her Food Prep posts – I’m usually finding a recipe or some idea to steal.

Gettin’ My Healthy On – I found Katie’s blog one day while looking for a plank challenge and I liked hers.  After digging around on her site a bit, she’s got a lot of workouts and recipes on there.  So this week, not only did I get some fitness inspiration, I also found a recipe for Mexican Casserole that I want to try.  Her posts are really useful, some recent ones have been on taking care of your feet and she did a review of the Shoe Dog Analysis at Road Runner Sports.  There is a Road Runner in my area, although not entirely convenient, but her post made me want to go there.  Like yesterday.

Another Mother Runner – Not really a blog, but is the hub of all things Mother Runner.  I believe the website was all started after Sarah Bowen Shea and Dimity McDowell came out with their first book a few years ago, Run Like a Mother.  I got that book last year when I started running.  It was full of their stories and stories of other women of all ages and all stages of life.  How they got started running, race experiences, etc.  I devoured it and went on to purchase their second book, Train Like a Mother, and their third book came out last month, Tales from Another Mother Runner.   They have really built a great community for female runners (mothers or not) and the site was a great resource when I got started running and it still is today.

 

Thanks again for the lovely link up Courtney, Mar, and Cynthia!

Friday Five

 

So what are your favorite blogs?  Aside from health and fitness, are their any other blogs you like to follow (food, fashion, etc)?

 

 

8 Comments

Leave a Reply

