Frederick Half Marathon – Week 12

Happy Monday!  Lets get down to business shall we?

Here is what my workouts looked like last week:

Monday – PT & core work

Tuesday – 3.13 neighborhood miles

Wednesday – Yogalosophy video – it was more of a toning workout than yoga.  I did the short version at 35 minutes.  I’ll be returning that to the library.

Thursday – unintended rest day. I wanted to run outside in the morning but it was in the 30s again. I couldn’t bare the thought.

Friday – it was still in the 30s so by the time I decided to rush over to the gym, I only had 30 minutes. I made them count with a progressive tempo run – my last “hard” run.

Saturday / Sunday – Saturday morning was cold so I put my last long run off until Sunday. It was mid forties and lovely. I had wanted to do 5, but ended up with 4 due to time constraints again. I spent the afternoon walking around the zoo again, so I got my miles in.

Total Miles – 9.44

On tap for this week is a work trip to Tampa. The hotel has a nice jogging path and I’m hoping I get a chance to use it. I’m also planning some in room yoga, PT, and stretching.  I even brought my stick roller!

2015/04/img_2241.jpg

I’ll probably do an easy neighborhood run on Friday and then take it easy until Sunday. While it’s been cold this training season and that kept me inside a lot more than I would have liked, I think I’m as prepared for Sunday as I can be. The horrible 13 mile run still is giving me some doubts, and there is still a part of me that wishes I had done another 10 instead of 8 two weeks ago.  The smarter part of me knows that I’ve logged the miles and put in the work. It can’t go any worse than Baltimore where I lost 6 weeks of training, right?

All that being said, my time goal for this race is …. 2:45.  The Frederick Half has a 2:40 pace group and a 2:50 pace group.  So my plan is to start near the 2:50 group and keep them behind me at all costs.

All that I need to do now is work on my playlist.  Since I’ll be running in the land of my formative years, I’m taking a 90s twist on this playlist…Nirvana, Beastie Boys, Green Day, Pearl Jam, with a few current motivating songs thrown in for good measure.

I pick up my bib on Saturday and run the kids race with Charlotte.  She’s got the cutest little running outfit and she’s so excited to wear it.

How was your weekend?  Anything else I should do (or not do) in the week leading up to my next race?  When’s your next race? 

 

 

7 Comments

  1. I love running races with my oldest daughter. She has one coming up (I might have another DNS) but she’s already asking about it and is so excited! Hope the weather warms up!
    Keep following your race plan and listen to your body this week!

  2. Good luck! I’d say just follow your normal routine before race day. Don’t eat anything too weird that will set your body out of whack and don’t do any crazy new workouts. You’re gonna do great! Can’t wait to hear about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

