I’m baaaack!

Forgive me blogosphere.  It has been two weeks since my last post.  Time flies when you just don’t know what to write about.  I’ve just been too tired at night to write about anything and frankly there hasn’t been much to write about.  I took nearly a full week off from everything following the half marathon and last week was finally able to get back into somewhat of a routine again.

Let’s go all the way back to May 9th.  I met up with my Mom’s Run This Town group with Salt and ran an easy 3 miles.  The first of anything since the half.  I probably could have kept up with something that week, but really wanted to take a week to sleep in and do nothing.

May 10th was Mother’s Day and I ate ALL THE FOOD at a Mother’s Day Brunch.  I had gone back to Frederick with Brian & Charlotte and we took my Mom out.  We’ve done it a couple times since Charlotte was born and it’s becoming a Mother’s Day tradition.  The rest of the week went like this:

Monday – May 11 – Easy run – 3 miles

Tuesday – nada – went to VA for work

Wednesday – Yoga for Athletes – This class was great, she had us using straps to pull and push in different poses.  It was quite interesting to feel how different muscles engaged in the poses while needing to keep the strap in place.  If you relaxed a bit the strap could fall.

Thursday – Ran 3.1 Miles – Now that the sun is coming up earlier, I can make my runs a little longer during the week (as long as I get up).  My plan was 4 miles, but I didn’t get up in time.  I ran my fastest 5K this morning all while tackling this hill again. Later in the evening, rather than sit on the couch and watch Sofia the First, I took Charlotte out for a bike ride.  She rode, I walked.

2015/05/img_2353.jpg

Friday – nada

Saturday – PT exercises, core work, and some sun salutations with Charlotte.

Sunday – Bob Harper Pure Burn Pure Strength DVD – I had gotten this from the library because I wanted a strength video that was just purely strength training.  I did the 20 minute version just to see what it was all about and because I had fully intended to actually go to Body Pump Monday morning.  It was an intense 20 minutes.  I’m actually kinda scared of the 50 minute version.  Needless to say, my quads were still hurting so I did not go to Body Pump on Monday.

Total Miles – 6.1

Brian was out of town with friends this past weekend so I didn’t get a long run in.  I’m headed to Cleveland today.  I had wanted to squeeze in a run this morning but my quads are still achy and I took some Nyquil and getting up wasn’t happening.  I’m hoping to take advantage of a cool afternoon in Cleveland tomorrow and try for 4-5 miles.  I need to get my mileage back up to a comfortable place so that the Baltimore 10 Miler is not a disaster (it’s 3 weeks away).  I’m sure I’ll be fine, but since I haven’t run more than 3 miles at a time in the past two weeks, I’m inside my own head.  So my goals for this week – run 10 miles total between now and Saturday and get some light cross training done.

In other positive news, you might have noticed a new badge on my page.  I’m now a Sweat Pink Ambassador!!  I’m still tinkering with all the community pages and  making the connections.

Are you a Sweat Pink Ambassador?  Do you get into a fitness slump after big races?  Ain’t nobody got time for a slump when there’s a 10 mile race looming on the horizon! 

14 Comments

  1. I get into a HUGE fitness slump after big races! I didn’t after Boston this year because I didn’t get to train the way I wanted, but you can bet that after 6/20 (Grandma’s Marathon) my posts will say things like, “I watched TV all day today and sat by the pool with a mojito” or something 🙂 I bet you will be awesome at the 10 miler because you are rested!

  2. I was in a total fitness slump after Boston. This past weekend I started back up after 3 weeks of minimal running and working out. It is HARD to get back into it! But right now the Balt. 10 miler is what’s motivating me as well 🙂

  3. I get into a big slump if I’m not racing! When I finish a big race (especially if it goes well), I actually have a harder time holding back and not signing up for a million other races!
    Enjoy the rest of your week (and weekend)!

Leave a Reply

