Weekly Workout Review 5/18 – 5/25

I love three day weekends!  It’s always fun to come into work on a Tuesday and feel slightly off.  How was your weekend?  Mine was a nice mix of jam packedness mixed with some quality time with Charlotte.  Brian was working on painting our bedroom so Sunday I took Charlotte to a local farm.  They had some baby goats that were sooooo cute!

Charlotte and the baby goat together? Cuteness overload!

Saturday was the Color Run!  The Color Run was my first 5K last year, so it was really cool to go back this year as an Ambassador and see how differently I ran the race.  I met up with Salt and Betty and had a blast.  I had originally thought that I might take Charlotte when I first signed up in January, but I don’t have a jogging stroller and Charlotte is a little unpredictable in large crowds – i.e. she’s a runner.  So I left her at home.  I commented to Salt that I don’t think the Betty / Charlotte combo would have made for a good morning.  I think they would have been a little crazy pants had they been there together.

I’m not going to completely recap this race but some of the highlights:

  • SHINE! – This was dubbed the shine tour and at first I wasn’t sure why.  They sent me a gold foil tattoo, but when we were there waiting, I didn’t see any glitter or anything.  The 3rd color zone was actually silver sparkle!  As you left, you were covered in a nice iridescent sparkle.  I could see it in the hair of the runner ahead of me and it looked so pretty!
  • A MEDAL! – I never did take a picture of the medal, but this was the first year they offered a medal.  Since this run is usually a lot of people’s first 5K, I think it’s a nice touch.
  • ON STAGE! – As ambassador’s, Salt and I were invited up on stage.  We got to lead the countdown for a color throw!

It was a good time.  It’s full of walkers, so it’s obviously not a race to try and PR in, but it’s fun.  I’d like to see how they can change this up in the future.  How much can you do with a color run to keep it interesting?

Post Run Selfie – I was really just trying to check for color in my teeth.

 

Besides the Color Run, I did get in some good workouts last week.  I had actually come down with something that I’m not sure is allergies or a cold, I’m trying to work through it now, but it’s been kinda annoying.  I traveled for work this week too – so that broke things up a bit.

Tuesday – PT Exercises, core work

Wednesday – 4 miles – I love running in Cleveland.  It’s so freakin’ flat!  I ran my four fastest miles ever!  Although I have to confess – I took a break at 2 miles at a park along Lake Erie.  But still, my pace averaged 11:38.  I really struggle for that here and there is no way I could maintain that kind of pace for 4 miles around my neighborhood.  It’s actually made me think that I might do the Cleveland Half Marathon next year.

Wearing my MD Sweatyband in Ohio! (Along with my Baltimore Half Marathon shirt)

Thursday – rest and traveling back home

Friday – PT Exercises & core work

Saturday – 3 miles at the Color Run

Sunday – Bob Harper – Yoga for the Warrior- this was an hour long video and I really liked it.  Again, borrowed from the library.

Monday – 5 Miles – I had planned to do 6.  It was so humid outside.  I waited until about 8:30 to go out and it was already hot and sticky.  There was a lot of stopping and starting.  I tried a new loop that takes me up a new hill, but I pass the Dunkin Donuts – good news if I need a pee break (which I did).  I was reaching a point where I could do another loop to make it six or head home to make it 5.  I was running low on fluids and I wasn’t near the Dunkin at this point so I called it.

Thankfully the next few weeks are not too busy.  So I’m thinking I’ll get back on a regular schedule again. I found a plank challenge I want to start, but I’ve got to write it down, the plan is on an info graphic that doesn’t print out well.  I’ll share that in another post.

Have you done the Color Run?  Have you ever run a race in Cleveland?  Is there a place you travel to that you love to run?

 

15 Comments

  1. It’s been a few year’s since I did a colour run, it was a lot of fun. I think I would have lost it if I had glitter on me though 😉 I’ve never run a race in Cleveland. That’s fun that you and Salt got to go up on stage! Great week of workouts!

  2. I ran the Cleveland 10k a few years ago! I was signed up for the full marathon initially, but I was dealing with an on and off injury so couldn’t really train and dropped down to the 10k. It ended up being super hot on race day and I was really grateful that I wasn’t running a full marathon!

  3. I have never done a color run! I want to just hasn’t worked out. I ran once in Cleveland on a treadmill at a conference for work… Does that count?!? I love to run the jersey shore when I’m visiting family. It’s nostalgic for me and beautiful at the same time.

  4. Wow, great job on that 4-miler! The Color Run looks like a lot of fun. I did one last year with my goddaughters and some friends and we had a blast. It took awhile to get all the colored corn starch out of everything though!

Leave a Reply

