Friday Five Link Up – Free As a Bird

Happy Friday y’all!  This week has flown by thanks to the three day weekend.  (I’m not complaining).  Since it was such a short week I had so much jam packed in that I’m excited to recover from the madness this weekend.  Poolside.

I’m excited to link up with the DC Trifecta, Courtney, Mar, and Cynthia, again this morning for the Friday Five Link Up.

Friday Five

Today’s theme was a free one!  Can’t wait to see what everyone else is talking about in this week’s link up!  I’m being kinda random and just sharing some things that happened this week.

1.  You know you’re a mother runner when:  your daughter takes a picture of her feet to be like mommy.

 

2015/05/img_2432.jpg

2.  I started a 30 Day Plank Challenge.  It’s from My Fitness Pal.  I like this plank challenge because it’s not just straight planks.  It incorporates side planks, walking planks, alternating hand planks, and spiderman planks over the course of 30 days.  At the end of every week in the challenge you do a standard plank test to see your progress.  I started with a baseline of 1:33.  I might have been able to hold it longer, but I didn’t.  So we’ll see how the rest of the month goes.  If you want to play along – follow me on Facebook!

30_day_Plan_Asset2

Click picture to be taken to Challenge site.

3.  Playlist updates.  I listen to Entertainment Weekly radio on Sirius XM and yesterday they were talking about Prince.  Specifically they were talking about all the songs he has written for other people.  He’s such an amazing artist and has written so many songs.  I probably should have taken the opportunity to go see his free concert in Baltimore a few weeks ago, but that was too close to all the craziness so I didn’t even entertain the idea.  But yesterday’s radio conversation made me add a few Prince goodies to my playlist.

  • Lets Go Crazy
  • When You Were Mine
  • Controversy
  • 1999
  • I Would Die For You

There are so many more!!!

prince

4.  Yesterday I did my first hill workout (all by myself).  I need to fine tune it a bit, but I found a decent hill – not too hard, not too easy – along my route.  So I ran to the hill (about 2 miles) and did 3 sprints up the hill.  I cooled down by walking back down.  The hill was only about a tenth of a mile, but I ran it as fast as I could.  When I checked my watch the sprints were in the 7:30s.  I’d like to try for doing 5 at a time.  I waited too long to go out plus it was 97% humidity – 3 was enough all I had time for.  I ran back home and my total mileage was about 3 miles.  I need to use the lap feature on my watch to track this.  Which I didn’t yesterday, so my garmin didn’t really give me any data on how I did.  I’ll try again next week.

5.  Also, yesterday evening, and I’ll do a full recap early next week, I went down to Fleet Feet in Gaithersburg, MD and saw Dimity McDowell from Another Mother Runner speak.  It was a book party for Tales from Another Mother Runner.  She was so nice and friendly – she came out and walked right up to me and gave me a hug.  Lovely lovely lady.  Since I started running last year, the Mother Runner books were my bibles on getting started.  So I got a few pics, got my book signed, and even won one of the raffles!  It was a great evening!

2015/05/img_2447.jpg
Look who else I ran into there – none other than Cynthia herself!  She was there with her MRTT group.

2015/05/img_2451.jpg

 

Last night I was meeting all kinds of running celebrities!

 

So there you have it.  Five things from my week.

 

Do you do hill workouts?  Please share your routine with me?  What is your favorite Prince song?  Have you read any of the Mother Runner books?

24 Comments

  1. Cynthia texted me right after she met you!!! That’s so fun you guys got to hang out there and what a freaking awesome event. Dimity needs to come to Baltimore next. 🙂
    And I am LOVING that Charlotte took a picture of her feet! You are a great influence on that sweet girl. 😀

  2. Great job on the hill workout!! I’m sure you could do 5 next time! My house is on a hill that’s a little bit longer so when I feel like doing hill repeats I do them right there – usually 8-10 of them. But I try to get a different mix of hill types in for variety. Near my parent’s house there’s a long steep hill (about 1/3 mile) and my goal for that hill is just to run all the way without stopping (not fast b/c it’s not possible haha). And for even more variety you can do different inclines on the treadmill where you have a ton of control to vary things up 🙂

  3. I love the photos of your daughter’s shoes! I don’t have a specific hill routine but I have a decent size hill in my neighborhood so when I want to do hill repeats I generally run about a mile around the neighborhood and then run up and down the hill for whatever time I have left and walk home as a cool down. Not very scientific!

  4. opps – hit enter too soon. i was also gonna say that i LOVE prince and there are SO many awesome songs of his that i could listen to forever. my older cousin is a huge fan and instilled a sense of appreciation for his talents into me at a young age 🙂

  5. That is SO CUTE that your daughter took a picture of her feet to be like you!
    That store is where my Thursday night run club meets! We were wondering what that special event was all about. I listen to the AMR podcast sometimes & Sarah & Dimity crack me up =) #single&childlessAMRfan

Leave a Reply

