Tales from Another Mother Runner Book Party

So I mentioned last week that I was able to attend the Mother Runner book party at Fleet Feet Gaithersburg.  The Another Mother Runner book series and community is really close to my heart because I found it early on my running journey.  Before I had running friends and when I was still in the throes of couch to 5K I found this book and website that pulled me into the running community without making me feel that I wasn’t really a runner.  It wasn’t pretentious and it was really meant for someone like me.  A mother who was starting to run.

I subsequently bought Train Like a Mother and started listening to Dimity McDowell’s & Sarah Bowen Shea’s  podcasts.  Each podcast was like listening in on a couple of girlfriends talking, not elite runners getting all technical about running.  I felt like I knew them or that I could know them.  I could totally be their friend!  I listened to what they had to say – how to come back from injury, tips for running in the heat, the cold, what to wear, etc.  They were my first BRFs, and I’ll even call them the running sisters I never had.

So needless to say, when their third book was coming out and they were going to tour, I had to go.

Dimity McDowell was coming to Maryland, but she was going to be down in Gaithersburg.  I arrived to the event early.  A byproduct of making sure I avoided traffic from Baltimore to Montgomery County.  Dimity came out to greet the few of us that were there and she came right up to me and a few other ladies and immediately gave us hugs.  She said to me “You look like a hugger!”   She asked us about our running, where we were at and chatted with us about how hot and humid it was out and asked us how we ran in it.  She moved on to some other ladies and I mingled.

Eventually the “party” got started.  Everyone took a seat on the floor and  Dimity read a few excerpts from her book.

Then she did some raffles.  The items raffled off included 3 Saucony gift cards, a box of Gu, a Nuun gift pack, a Soleus watch, a Balega sock gift pack, and a pair of Smith Optics sunglasses, some Ultimate Direction products, a Hyland’s gift pack, and I’m certain there were a few other things.  I was the lucky winner of the Balega sock gift pack.  I wore them on my 8 mile run this weekend and I am sold!

A pair of socks, a running hat, and a reflective arm band.

After the reading she signed books and took pictures.  It totally looks like we were having a moment in the first pic, but I think we were discussing how hot and sweaty we were.  (That store was hot!)

I collected my goody bag and headed home.  It was a really fun event and I hope they come back again soon.  When I got home, I put a pic up on Instagram and tagged @themotherrunner to let them know what a great event they had and how great it was for me to meet them.  They reposted a thank you to me and started following me…I can die now!  Ha Ha.  Their goody bag was no joke either – take a look at all it included:

 

During the event, when I looked around, I noticed that there were women there of all ages, shapes, and sizes.  We were all brought together in that room not only by our love of the Mother Runner books but also by our love of running.  Dimity and Sarah have created a community where beginners feel at ease with “real runners” and we all share the common bond of making time for ourselves and motherhood.   Wherever I am, I am part of a larger running community that will welcome me with open arms.  We are mother runners. I am a mother runner.

          

 

Have you read the Mother Runner books?  Was there a person, group, or book  (or anything really) who helped you along the way when you first started running?  What is your preferred brand of sock?

5 Comments

  1. I haven’t read the books but now I feel like I need to! My story of how I began to run is funny because it all came full circle. I was running on the treadmill at the gym, twice per week and told a friend how excited I was that I could go 5 miles. I never thought I would stick with it so she encouraged me to run a half marathon with her. That was in 2007 and it was enough to get me addicted. In 2011, she needed knee cap replacements. She was clear to run but she was scared so I encouraged her to start and ran her first half post surgery with her in 2013. It was awesome. We both credit each other with being runners now.

    • That’s so awesome that you and your friend both came full circle to get eachother through a half marathon! I didn’t know anyone who was a runner when I started (I might have started sooner if I did.) I really credit finding those books as what kept me going before I started meeting other people. The books are really great references. If I were to recommend any book to check out to an experienced runner – defnitely Train Like A Mother. In addition to the training plans, it includes all the same little tips and anecdotes – they even have a half marathon bike plan for an injured runner.

Leave a Reply

