Weekly Workout Review 5/26- 6/1

Whew!  It was a hot and steamy weekend out here.  I did get to enjoy my first pool day though – so not all was lost.  Sunday I got to take a trip to Target ALONE!  I hadn’t intended to go alone, but the kiddo didn’t want to come along.  It was so nice and luxurious.

2015/06/img_2467.jpg

Yes – the Frappacino rides front and center.

I got in a great week of workouts – both running and at home.  So lets see what I was up to last week.

Tuesday – Bob Harper Pure Burn Pure Strength – I went for the full hour workout and it did not disappoint.  I definitely felt it in my arms and I’ve decided that after Saturday’s race, I’m going to move up to heavier weights on the leg exercises.

Wednesday – Rest, Plank Challenge D1.  I mentioned my plank challenge in Friday’s post, Wednesday was the Day 1 Baseline Plank – 1:33.

Thursday – Hill Repeats. 2 mile warm up, .1 hill sprints x3 (with walk back down), .5 mile jog back home. Total 3.1 miles (this is a total guesstimation as I stopped my Garmin multiple times – I created the route on Map My Run and this is what it worked out to)  The next time I do this, I’m going to use the lap feature on my Garmin to track it better.  This workout was in the early AM and it was 97% humidity.  Summer is alive and well here in Maryland.  I should have also completed Day 2 of my plank challenge, but with my late evening I moved it over to Friday and used this as my Plank rest day.

Friday – Plank Challenge D2, PT Exercises

Saturday – Plank Challenge D4, Yoga for the Warrior

Sunday – 8 miles @ NCR Trail.  Friday night I was debating on whether or not do to this Saturday or Sunday.  Both days were supposed to be hot and sticky but at about 9PM on Friday, I made the call to put it off until Sunday.  Great decision as the temperature was a little lower and so was the humidity (though not by much.)  I ended up starting the run at 6:30 in order to avoid the sun.  I actually felt cool breezes along the trail.  Plank Challenge D5.

2015/06/img_2461.jpg

This picture was taken halfway through and doesn’t fully show the sweatfest that the run became.

Monday – Rest!  Charlotte got up while I was putting my makeup on this morning (she usually wakes up MUCH earlier).  The first thing she asked me was, “Are you doing yoga, Mommy?”  I told her not today.  Then she asked “Wanna do yoga with me?”.  I love that girl.

Total Miles – 11.1

So what’s in store this week?  Brian went out of town early this morning, so I’ll be doing some early AM workouts in my living room today and Wednesday.  He doesn’t get home until really late on Wednesday – so I’m not certain that I will be able to get another run in until Thursday.  Although I have a little plan for National Running Day on Wednesday.  Lack of running is okay this week, I’ve got the 10 Miler on Saturday and I want to be rested.  My main focus this week is just to stay hydrated and eat well and pray for nice weather.  I’m not so sure about the shade situation on this route, so I am a little worried about the sun and humidity.  Although right now the weather says it’s going to rain.  Timewise, I want to finish under 2:10 (close to 2:05 actually).  I’d love to say 2 hours, but I think that is a bit too aggressive given the hills on the course.

Have you ever raced in the rain?  How did you manage?  What are your plans for National Running Day?

 

 

4 Comments

  1. I ran in the rain for the Rock and Roll half and it wasn’t too bad. I think the body glide on my feet (well, everywhere really) definitely helped with preventing blisters and of course the hat helped with keeping the rain off my face. I agree that the warm rain might not be so bad when compared to heat and humidity 🙂 My plans for National Running Day include getting back to the track since it’s been months since I’ve been there. Have a fun week!

Leave a Reply

