Weekly Workouts 6/9 – 6/15

Happy Tuesday!  I don’t know when I started doing these workout reviews on Tuesdays – I must have missed a few Mondays and thought “what the heck?”  I’ll probably get back to Mondays when I start my half training again in a few weeks.

I had a fun weekend.  I did the Charm City Run Timonium Anniversary Run on Saturday morning.  Salt was there with little B. and so was my friend Anna from my half group (she signed up again this summer!  yeah!)  We went out for 4 hilly miles and those hills…oh the hills.  And the heat…and the humidity!  I’m glad I can just go out and run without layering up, but seriously, there was no spring, we went from winter to summer.  The humidity the past few weeks has been awful too and there doesn’t appear to be any end in sight.  Get used to it or bust!

Saturday night my mom came up to watch Charlotte and Brian and I finally went out for our 9th anniversary.  (Our anniversary was actually at the end of May).  When I think about it sometimes, we were babies when we got married (26) and I still can’t believe it’s been 9 years already.  The time has flown by.  We celebrated by going to Ruth’s Chris for dinner.  We each got a house salad and a filet.  We split some mashed potatoes and I also had some broiled tomatoes which were fantastic.   After dinner we had a free movie pass so we went to see San Andreas (they wouldn’t take passes for Jurassic World).  Not bad for your run of the mill disaster movie.  I can count on one hand the times we’ve gone out for dinner and a movie since Charlotte was born.  It was such a treat!

2015/06/img_2542.jpg

Yes, we totally housed the flourless chocolate cake.

Sunday morning we went to the pool first thing when it opened and came home after lunch.  We had the rest of the day to just hang out and do some Sunday relaxing.

Last week was tough.  My legs remained sore from the 10 Miler the previous Saturday so I was doing a lot of low key workouts and a lot of stretching up until this past weekend’s 4 mile run.

6/9 – Plank Challenge Day 14 – 2:02, stretching, foam rolling

6/10 – 2 miles, Plank Challenge D15

6/11 – rest day

6/12 – Plank Challenge D16, 20 minutes of Yoga for Athletes

6/13 – 4 miles

6/14 – Plank Challenge D18, PT Exercises.

6/15 – 30 minutes of Pure Burn Pure Strength

Total Miles – 6 miles

Week 2 Plank – 2:02

Since I do the Plank Tests on Tuesday mornings, it’s kinda silly to wait all week to see how long my planks are so here is my plank time from this morning – the end of week 3 test.

Week 3 Plank – 2:16

I’m finding with the planks that it’s not necessarily the strength to hold it, but the mental ability to keep holding it.  I’ve taken to putting on a song and just closing my eyes and singing along.  The minute I take a look at the timer and it’s not where I wish it was, I start to waver a bit – so back to the second verse.  🙂

This week my plan is to get 3 runs in, with Saturday or Sunday being a long run of 5 or 6 miles, and do cross training on other days.  I really need to get acclimated to this humidity.  I know I will – it’s not like I’ve never done it before.  This week will be my last week of the plank challenge.  I’m going to continue to plank, in addition to other core work, but I might try to find a glute / butt challenge.  I know I could use some work in firming strengthening that area up plus it will help with my running.

Do you like doing 30 day challenges?  What are your goals for the week?  At the risk of being redundant (I’m sure it’s being talked about all over the running blogosphere) – what’s your one hot weather running tip? 

 

 

6 Comments

    • I usually haven’t done any 30 day challenges because as you start going along they start to take up way too much time (a handful of squats soon becomes 30 minutes of straight squats LOL). I went ahead with this one since it’s the core and I need it badly. I have noticed a difference though, I’m excited to see what happens on Day 30 this week.

Leave a Reply

