Weekly Workouts 6/16-6/22

Happy Tuesday!  I hope you all had a wonderful weekend!  I know a few of you raced at Grandma’s Marathon and I can’t wait to hear read all about it.  I’m just now catching up on some things from over the weekend.  It seems that lately whenever I have free time, I don’t necessarily want to spend it doing anything that requires brain activity.

Last week was pretty good.  I completed the third week of planks and I’m finishing up the final days now….I missed a few days of it last week, so I picked up where I left off and I’m scheduled to end it on Friday I think with a final plank test.  Last week I tried a new recipe in the crock pot.  Italian Beef sandwiches.  Not really healthy, but a nice change up.  They were even Charlotte approved!

2015/06/img_2588.jpg
Just take a 3-3.5 lb chuck roast, throw it in the crockpot with some italian dressing mix, roasted red peppers, and some mild banana pepper rings.  Cook on low 7-8 hours.  Shred & serve!  We had ours on hoagie rolls with provolone cheese.  I put some extra red peppers and banana peppers on mine.

So last weeks workouts went as such:

6/16 – Plank Challenge D21 & 2.2 Miles – This was my plank test, as I mentioned last week I did a 2:12.  I also did a brief run in my neighborhood.  I forgot to take my Garmin with me and thought, “no problem, I’ll use Map My Run!”  Then of course I paused it while I was putting my phone back in my SpiBelt.  I know that I ran about 2.2 when I mapped it out, but I have no idea of the time…which is okay.  One benefit of using Map My Run (if you keep your phone in a belt) is you get to run by feel and can’t check your pace every thirty seconds, but you can still track your run.  When you hear your splits, the mile is already over and you can’t do anything about it.

6/17 – Plank Challenge D22, No More Trouble Zones – The plank challenges are starting to take a long time now.  Between the multiple types of planks and the multiple sets, they are turning into 20 minute ordeals…not a bad thing, but doesn’t leave much time for anything else if you are pressed for time in the AM (like I usually am.)


6/18 – Rest – I got up to run, but just felt so tired.  I even had my clothes on.  I started to head out of my bedroom after changing then decided to crawl back into bed.  With my running clothes still on.

6/19 – Hill repeats, 2.34 miles-  This was another fun hill workout.  I made sure to switch my Garmin to manual laps so I could track my time.  The hill was .15-.17 depending on where I stopped and fairly steep.  I don’t know what I’m trying to do on these hill repeats other than run up the hill as fast as I can.  I did a mile warm up and then did three repeats, with a jog back down the hill to cool down and a brief pause before starting the next one.  Then I jogged back home (only about a quarter mile.)  I did negative split the hill repeats, so that’s a positive.  The next time I do it, I’m going to do five.  After I got home, I felt I could have done a few more.

6/20 – 5.5 miles – Most people would not have done a long run after doing the hill workout the day before but I thought it was supposed rain on Sunday morning, so I went out to get my 5 miles in.  It was humid, but overcast so the sun was not beating down.  It was a good run.  I started out slow like I wanted, picked it up in mile 2, miles 3 &4 were my worst (I hit the worst hill at mile 3), but in the 5th I somehow was able to pick it up and the last half mile was amazeballs (thank you downhills!)

6/21 – Plank Challenge D23, PT exercises

6/22 – Plank Challenge D24, Yoga Meltdown – I haven’t done the Yoga Meltdown in a while, so between that video yesterday and my hilly run this morning, my but is screaming!

Total Miles – 10.04

 How was your week? 

 

4 Comments

  1. Thanks a bunch, Sara! Your planking is awesome and is making me feel like I need to get back on track with mine. As soon as I got to the 3 minute mark, I kinda stopped. Oops! Those hill repeats sound pretty awesome too! I’m sure these workouts are building up your strength alot! 🙂

Leave a Reply

