Baltimore Half Training – Week 1

 

Wowza!  That was one hot weekend!!!!  I hope you all stayed hydrated!  I read a lot of posts from people who cut their runs short or just had a miserable time.  I spent Saturday at Hershey Park!  For those of you not on the East Coast, Hershey Park is an amusement park based in Hershey, PA, AKA Chocolate Town!  It was my first time there in a bajillion years and Charlotte’s first trip.  We told her all about the chocolate tour that shows how they make chocolate so all week she was asking about riding through the oven.  (There is a part of the ride that goes through a “roasting chamber”.)  It was crazy hot so we only rode a few rides, Charlotte got to drive the old timey cars, meet a Hershey Kiss, and met a “super tall man”.

HP 1

2015/07/img_2739.jpg

2015/07/img_2750.jpg

She was really into the characters, so that makes me super excited for Disney World in September.

So lets get on to the workouts…

7/13 – PT, core work, foam rolling

7/14 – 2.67 Miles – This was supposed to be our 2-mile time trial to set paces for the season.  Unbeknownst to any of the coaches (half or marathon) the college where we do track work had some lacrosse camp or something going on on the field and said there would be too many people on the track.  So after running to the track, we ran another two loops around the campus.

7/15 – Rest Day – I was just tired this morning.

7/16 – Tempo Run – 2.12 Miles – I totally nailed my tempo run!  Kinda sorta.  I was on cloud 9 after the run.  I was supposed to run 5 mins easy, 20 at tempo pace, then 5 mins easy cool down.  I ran 5, then my mathematical skills were challenged and instead of running the tempo pace until my watch hit 25 minutes, I stopped at 20 minutes.  Soooo, I only ran tempo pace for 15 minutes.  Although, my tempo portion was at 11:31.  Prior in the week someone said to focus on time during the tempo run, don’t worry about the miles and that’s what I did – not sure why I get it now, but I do and I’m excited to do it for the full length this week.

7/17 – PT, core work, foam rolling

7/18 – Hershey Park – lotsa walking

7/19 – 6 Miles – This long run had all the makings of disaster.  It was humid, my Garmin was dead, and my legs were so tired from the day before.  But, since I am choosing to embrace my “easy” pace this season, I figured I would just take it easy and get through it.  I started up Map My Run and went to town. My splits were:

Mile 1 – 12:44
Mile 2 – 13.51
Mile 3 – 12:18
Mile 4 – 14.15 (pee break)
Mile 5 – 12:27
Mile 6 – 11:53

So my goal in addition to running long runs easy is to at least have a strong finish mile – which I was happy to have done here.  I also ran into Lisa out on the trail.  I saw her running towards me and though could that be her?  I called out her name and sure enough.  I also came across these guys:

2015/07/img_2762.jpg

So I’m giving this run an A.  I felt great the entire time and even though it was off to a rough start, it never felt like a struggle.

Total Miles – 10.79

This week I’m traveling again – but I’m meeting up with the Second Sole training group here in Cleveland to get my 2 mile time trial done on a track.  Now that I’ll have my first drop in out of the way, I won’t be so intimidated to drop in again when I come into town.

Hope you all have a good week!  If I can get another post in this week I will.

Do you have trouble slowing your pace for long runs?

 

 

 

14 Comments

  1. That’s an amazing 6 mile run! I love your goal of a fast finish mile. It always makes me feel good at the end of my run when I can pull that off as well. And Hershey Park is awesome! So glad Charlotte had fun. That’s the first amusement park I got to ride a roller coaster in so I’ve got good memories of the place 🙂

Leave a Reply

