Baltimore Half – Week 3 & Week 4

Looks like it’s been two weeks since I’ve posted an update.  I’ve been more MIA than usual the past two weeks because I was preparing for and going on vacation!  Charlotte and I left Saturday the 1st and we enjoyed long glorious days at the beach with her cousins and my brothers.  I’ve been going to either Rehoboth or Bethany Beach in Delaware since I was a kid.  We’ve stayed in Bethany every year since the 90s, but we always head to the Rehoboth boardwalk to visit Funland.  I love watching Charlotte ride the same rides I rode as a kid.  This was probably the best beach week I’ve had in a long time, the weather was perfect all week long.

2015/08/img_2863.jpg

Dig a hole they can’t climb out of…perfect beach baby sitter!

2015/08/img_2918.jpg

Yes I was in a house with 8 kids…

2015/08/img_2949.jpg

Selfie on the helicopters

I haven’t taken a vacation all year, so it has been really nice to be disconnected from work and those types of obligations.  I forgot how nice it was to take off a full week at a time.  I tend to take long weekends and just do housework or other errands.  Those Ocean City ads are right!  (Our Ocean City MD billboard ads state, “Vacation Days are for Water Parks, Not Power Washing”)

This also happened:

 

 

Yes, I registered for the Cleveland Half Marathon next May.  It was early bird pricing and I couldn’t pass up he $50 price tag.

I was able to get some workouts in since I’m still getting up early, the only thing that suffers while on vacation is my diet.  During the day at the beach we snack on celery sticks and peanut butter, apples, bananas, popcorn, and pretzel crisps.  Dinners have usually been decent, but there is an extreme lack of fruits and vegetables.  Plus, there is usually a lot more beer in the house than at home.

Here are my workouts for Week 3 (at home two weeks ago):

7/27 – A little yoga, stretching, foam rolling, core work

7/28 Yoga in the AM – I’m loving these Yoga with Adrienne videos, 2.76 mile Hill Workout in PM The hill workout was totally humbling. It was hot, humid, and a big freakin’ hill. We had a .33 mile climb followed by a .22 mile jog down. We were to do that 4-5 times. I stopped at 4, but after I left, I felt bad for not going for 5. They weren’t easy, I was walking by the time I was halfway up the hill. Even with slowing down. It was brutal in the moment, but I feel like I should do workouts like that more often.

7/29 – Rest Day – Seems like Wednesday has become an unintentional rest day due to the late Tuesday workouts. I’ve been trying to make sure to stretch in the evenings though.

7/30 – 2.12 mile Tempo Run – It was so nasty Thursday morning…so nasty humid, 93% to be exact.  I did my 5 minute warm up, but had trouble keeping my tempo pace for the next 20 minutes. My cool down ended up being a walk.

7/31 – PT, Myrtles, & stretching

8/1 – 9 Miles – On the NCR trail. Felt good the entire run. I did a good job keeping my pace consistent and completed a fast finish mile.

Total Miles – 13.88 miles

 

Here are my workouts for Week 4 (at the beach):

8/3 – PT, core work (planks and side planks), a little yoga

8/4 – 3.28 miles – at home this would have been a track workout, so I added some fartleks to my run.  I did a one mile warm up and two miles of fartleks of varying distances.  The first mile was much faster than I wanted since it’s so flat out here.  The last mile and a half was right into the wind.  It made it difficult, but the wind felt so good.

8/5 – a little PT, a little yoga, and a little stretching

8/6 – 2.93 miles – This was a tempo run, 10x20x7.  I should have cooled down for 10, but I made it back to the house at 7 minutes.  I’m really starting to enjoy tempo runs.  Is that crazy?  I wish I had gotten up a smidge earlier, but I still got a great picture of the sunrise this morning:

2015/08/img_2954.jpg

8/7 – Rest Day

8/8 – 9 miles – Downtown and a total struggle.  I had planned to do 10 but I just wasn’t feeling it.  My running partner and I took a wrong turn which cut our run a little short anyway.  This happened to me last year too – a bad post-vacation long run.  A week of poor eating (and drinking) and definitely poor hydration all week probably didn’t help.

Total Miles – 15.21

So there you have it – two weeks of decent runs and workouts.  Goal this week – do a yoga video on Tuesday AM and a strength workout on Wednesday.  Still not getting my strength workouts done.  Oh and look at that, the Chuck 12 is less than a month away.   That really creeped up on me.  I’m using it as a training run, so my long runs over the next week will put me at 12 by race day.  (Hopefully I’ll survive).

How does going on vacation impact your workouts?  Or do you let it?  Despite your best efforts, is there something you mean to do but never get around to doing during your training cycles?

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 Comments

  1. Woo hoo for the Cleveland half!
    I wish I felt the way you do about tempos, I dread them so much. That’s great that you love them though! I think they’re one of the most beneficial workouts for longer races.
    I’m usually able to stay on track with my running over vacation, but cross training really falls off the radar.

    • Tempos clicked this year…I guess because I’m finally running an “easy” pace and not running so hard for everything. It makes holding the tempo pace easy when you are actually running your easy run “easy”. Plus I was always so focused on miles, so it’s nice to just run for a set amount of time. I wasn’t about to do a full yoga video with my family standing around, so cross training did fall to the wayside. There was beachfront yoga one morning at 6AM but I didn’t bring a mat with me, so I didn’t do that…but nice to know it’s there for next year.

Leave a Reply

